Editorials | CraigDailyPress.com

Editorials

Editorial: Please end it now

January 17, 2019 — On June 21, 1788, our Founding Fathers ratified the United States Constitution, the bedrock upon which our republic was built and from which it has grown and thrived for the past 230 years.

Learn more »

Editorial: Do the right thing

January 10, 2019 — To the enthusiastic applause of a room packed with friends, family, and interested community members, Moffat County's newest elected officials took their oaths of office Tuesday morning, then immediately turned their attention to the public's business.

Learn more »

Editorial: New year … new possibilities

January 3, 2019 — Once every 365 days or so, the calendar tells us an old year has ended and a new year has begun, though in actuality, the "new year" is nothing new at all. Time marches doggedly forward in an unbroken, possibly infinite line, and the only

Learn more »

Editorial: A wealth of giving

December 27, 2018 — We never cease to be both gratified and amazed by the boundless spirit of giving that lives with us here in Craig and Moffat County, though we really shouldn't be amazed at all; time and time again, this community has demonstrated — and continues to

Learn more »

Editorial: Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus

December 20, 2018 — Editor's note: In 1897, 8-year-old Virginia O'Hanlon wrote a letter to the editor of the New York Sun, and the quick response was printed as an unsigned editorial. The work of veteran newsman Francis Pharcellus Church has since become history's most reprinted newspaper editorial, appearing

Learn more »

Editorial: Anger to action

December 13, 2018 — On Monday, a jury found former Moffat County High School teacher and coach Justin Dean Folley not guilty of 10 counts of felony sexual exploitation of a child.

Learn more »

Editorial: A great first step

December 6, 2018 — Last week in this space, we editorialized about the vital role transparency and community involvement play in building and maintaining effective, responsive government, especially at the local level, and this week, we witnessed a sterling example. On Tuesday, the recently formed Joint Services Workgroup —

Learn more »

Editorial: We’re in this together

November 29, 2018 — Government transparency: It might seem the foregoing phrase is nothing more than a tired, old contradiction in terms that gets trotted out every couple of years as part of some campaign slogan or another, then packed back into the mothballs until the next election cycle

Learn more »

Editorial: Plenty to be proud of

November 22, 2018 — Moffat County School District has plenty to be proud of this week, and we, as a community served by such a district, have plenty to be thankful for. On Nov. 13, Craig Middle School Assistant Principal Sara Linsacum was named Assistant Principal of the Year

Learn more »

Editorial: The fight’s not over

November 8, 2018 — The 2018 midterm election is now in the history books; after months of rancorous debate and campaign rhetoric, the candidates have either won or lost, and the issues have either been embraced or rejected. It's over. And that includes Moffat County Referred Measure 1A. We

Learn more »

Editorial: Yes, your vote matters

November 1, 2018 — As you read these words, the midterm election is only four days away, but for many of us, that's a moot point. According to a news release from Colorado Secretary of State Wayne Williams, 2,369 Moffat County residents had already cast ballots as of Thursday.

Learn more »

Editorial: Guarding the henhouse

October 25, 2018 — Given the lengthy list of proposals and issues facing voters on the November ballot, it might be easy to overlook Amendments Y and Z. Neither has risen to the level of public debate surrounding some of the more contentious issues, but both, in our opinion,

Learn more »

Editorial: Road to the future found in Proposition 110

October 17, 2018 — On Nov. 6, Colorado voters will face an important, but confusing, choice as they consider competing ballot proposals to fund the state's transportation needs. Proposition 109, also known as the "Fix Our Damn Roads Transportation Bond Initiative," would authorize $3.5 billion in bonds to fund

Learn more »

Editorial: Our kids are worth it

October 11, 2018 — New tax proposals should always be considered through the lens of skepticism. We are convinced that — so far as is possible — individuals and businesses should keep the fruits of their labor, and taxation, by its definition, belies that principal, taking money from the pockets of

Learn more »

Editorial: Prop 112 a poor idea

October 4, 2018 — Faced with a whopping 15 ballot issues, Moffat County voters have a lot to think about in the run-up to the November election, but in our opinion, at least one of these issues should make for an easy choice. Proposition 112, if approved by voters,

Learn more »

Editorial: A true ‘win-win’

September 27, 2018 — Though the phrase is thrown around quite a bit, it's rare to encounter a true "win-win" scenario. But, in our opinion, that's exactly what we're seeing in Memorial Regional Health's new affiliation with SCL Health St. Mary's. The affiliation — which formalizes a longstanding arrangement

Learn more »

Editorial: It is in giving …

September 20, 2018 — We borrow today's headline from the prayer of St. Francis of Assisi, patron saint of animals and ecology and one of the most venerated figures in the history of Christianity. And, though the prayer, itself, has been characterized as a declaration of intent and faith,

Learn more »

Editorial: Cost versus benefit

September 13, 2018 — Cost–benefit analysis is defined as a systematic strategy to compare the potential benefits of a certain course of action to the costs associated with taking that action. One of the main applications of this technique is to help decide whether an investment or decision is

Learn more »

Editorial: The struggle is real

September 6, 2018 — It's no secret that the United States of America is in a crisis situation with regard to the abuse of prescription drugs, and Northwest Colorado has been hit particularly hard by this deeply disturbing trend. That's why we were so encouraged by last week's news

Learn more »

Editorial: Seize the opportunity

August 23, 2018 — An open letter to Moffat County students and teachers: On Monday, you will return to classes following the long summer break. A new year stretches before of you, a year that might be compared to a blank page waiting to be filled. What will fill

Learn more »