Editorials | CraigDailyPress.com

Editorials

Editorial: The fight’s not over

November 8, 2018 — The 2018 midterm election is now in the history books; after months of rancorous debate and campaign rhetoric, the candidates have either won or lost, and the issues have either been embraced or rejected. It's over. And that includes Moffat County Referred Measure 1A. We

Learn more »

Editorial: Yes, your vote matters

November 1, 2018 — As you read these words, the midterm election is only four days away, but for many of us, that's a moot point. According to a news release from Colorado Secretary of State Wayne Williams, 2,369 Moffat County residents had already cast ballots as of Thursday.

Learn more »

Editorial: Guarding the henhouse

October 25, 2018 — Given the lengthy list of proposals and issues facing voters on the November ballot, it might be easy to overlook Amendments Y and Z. Neither has risen to the level of public debate surrounding some of the more contentious issues, but both, in our opinion,

Learn more »

Editorial: Road to the future found in Proposition 110

October 17, 2018 — On Nov. 6, Colorado voters will face an important, but confusing, choice as they consider competing ballot proposals to fund the state's transportation needs. Proposition 109, also known as the "Fix Our Damn Roads Transportation Bond Initiative," would authorize $3.5 billion in bonds to fund

Learn more »

Editorial: Our kids are worth it

October 11, 2018 — New tax proposals should always be considered through the lens of skepticism. We are convinced that — so far as is possible — individuals and businesses should keep the fruits of their labor, and taxation, by its definition, belies that principal, taking money from the pockets of

Learn more »

Editorial: Prop 112 a poor idea

October 4, 2018 — Faced with a whopping 15 ballot issues, Moffat County voters have a lot to think about in the run-up to the November election, but in our opinion, at least one of these issues should make for an easy choice. Proposition 112, if approved by voters,

Learn more »

Editorial: A true ‘win-win’

September 27, 2018 — Though the phrase is thrown around quite a bit, it's rare to encounter a true "win-win" scenario. But, in our opinion, that's exactly what we're seeing in Memorial Regional Health's new affiliation with SCL Health St. Mary's. The affiliation — which formalizes a longstanding arrangement

Learn more »

Editorial: It is in giving …

September 20, 2018 — We borrow today's headline from the prayer of St. Francis of Assisi, patron saint of animals and ecology and one of the most venerated figures in the history of Christianity. And, though the prayer, itself, has been characterized as a declaration of intent and faith,

Learn more »

Editorial: Cost versus benefit

September 13, 2018 — Cost–benefit analysis is defined as a systematic strategy to compare the potential benefits of a certain course of action to the costs associated with taking that action. One of the main applications of this technique is to help decide whether an investment or decision is

Learn more »

Editorial: The struggle is real

September 6, 2018 — It's no secret that the United States of America is in a crisis situation with regard to the abuse of prescription drugs, and Northwest Colorado has been hit particularly hard by this deeply disturbing trend. That's why we were so encouraged by last week's news

Learn more »

Editorial: Seize the opportunity

August 23, 2018 — An open letter to Moffat County students and teachers: On Monday, you will return to classes following the long summer break. A new year stretches before of you, a year that might be compared to a blank page waiting to be filled. What will fill

Learn more »

Editorial: CRAFTing local tourism

August 16, 2018 — As the Moffat County Tourism Association works toward spotlighting and promoting Northwest Colorado's numerous tourist attractions, we were thrilled to learn last week that the county has been awarded a Colorado Rural Academy for Tourism, or CRAFT, technical assistance support grant in the first round

Learn more »

Editorial: We support our neighbors

August 9, 2018 — The reverberations arising from Bank of the West's recent social media post are still echoing across Moffat County, and with each passing day, it appears more and more likely that the future may not be all that bright for the institution, at least not in

Learn more »

Editorial: It’s about time

August 2, 2018 — We were gratified to learn last week that the Craig City Council is planning to adopt a more aggressive strategy in dealing with vacant — and, in some cases, derelict — properties around town. Specifically, during a July 24 meeting, council members — in response

Learn more »

Editorial: 100 years of tradition

July 26, 2018 — The whole community turned out. With flags flying, the Streeter Mine surprised everybody with a parade, and the Craig band performed. Huge tents housed the displays of local crops, with babies being the biggest crop. The foregoing is an excerpt from a newspaper account of

Learn more »

Editorial: To our heroes

July 12, 2018 — An open letter to the brave men and women who risk their lives to protect us from wildfire. Dear Firefighters: "Thank you" hardly seems enough for what you have given us — what you are giving us. Because of you, we get to sleep peacefully

Learn more »

Editorial: Let’s be careful out there

July 6, 2018 — It's been said that people come to Colorado for the winters, but they stay for the summers. And, certainly, there's a solid argument to be made for the truth of that statement. As beautiful as our winters are, there's still nothing quite so pleasant as

Learn more »

Editorial: Democracy in action

June 28, 2018 — Among the most cherished — and important — rights we enjoy as citizens of the United States of America is the right to freely choose our own leaders, and nowhere is the simple beauty of our election system more clearly expressed than at the local

Learn more »

Editorial: Pick up that flag

June 21, 2018 — Eight times per year, the Craig Rotary Club gathers a volunteer crew and spends about an hour lining Victory Way — from Veterans Hall to Village Inn — with American flags. Flags are meant to fly, but, inevitably, and despite being anchored in buckets that

Learn more »

Editorial: Fire safety 101

June 14, 2018 — Though the calendar won't agree for another week yet, outdoor conditions are telling us summer has arrived in Northwest Colorado. That means camping, hiking, cookouts, trips to the pool, outdoor festivals —and, unfortunately, wildfires. Already, multiple blazes are popping up across the state. In southwestern

Learn more »