Opinion | CraigDailyPress.com

Opinion

Memorial Regional Health: MRH occupational therapists can help develop activity-based plans to help patients overcome mental health challenges

April 22, 2018 — People often think of occupational therapists as professionals who help patients with physical conditions, but did you know that mental health is one of the areas of care that occupational therapists treat regularly? In the context of occupational therapy, occupations are defined as daily activities.

Learn more »

Editorial: Moffat County’s Colowyo Mine taking strides toward securing area’s future

April 19, 2018 — Last week, officials with Tri-State Generation and Transmission Association Inc., owner of the Colowyo Mine, provided an update on the proposed Collom Expansion, which will add 28 acres to existing federal coal leases and give the mine access to another 79 million tons of federal

Learn more »

Betty Wick: Group expresses thanks for support

April 19, 2018 — Thank you everyone who bought tickets and donated toward our Soup, Salad and Baked Potato fundraiser for a new VFW Auxiliary Post 4265 parade flag and flags for deceased auxiliary members. Our community always shows its support, and it is greatly appreciated. Betty Wick VFW

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Casseroles as good as leftovers

April 19, 2018 — Lately, we've had family members in and out of the house, and, as always, if they're hungry and it isn't mealtime, they're welcome to raid the refrigerator. To make sandwich-making more inviting, I try to make sure there are leftovers, such as meat loaf and

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: Raising twin bottle calves a worthwhile challenge for Craig rancher

April 19, 2018 — The subject of last week's column was memories of feeding bottle calves, specifically, one calf that had to be supplemented with two bottles of milk replacer per day because her mother couldn't produce enough milk. This week, I'm back on bottle calves again, but this

Learn more »

Bain White: Forgiveness has no memory

April 19, 2018 — How do you feel you rank when it comes to forgiveness? I realize all of us have been in positions during our lifetimes when we have come to the conclusion that we have been hurt by another person. We also recognize that certain hurts are

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: These are the good guys, right?

April 17, 2018 — Congress sat around grilling good guy Mark Zuckerberg, of Facebook fame, last week and attempted to make sense of his multi-billion dollar social media platform and its effect on free speech, how it collects user information and a host of security issues. Most of you

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: Bush twins share memories in new book

April 17, 2018 — This week's autobiography, "Sisters First: Stories from our Wild and Wonderful Life," was written by Jenna Bush Hager and Barbara Pierce Bush. The book's foreword was written by Laura Bush. It is a book of memories shared by the twins, of childhood and beyond, including

Learn more »

Dave Wallace: Craig spending spurs concern

April 17, 2018 — Attending last week's Craig City Council meeting, it became obvious the city is taking advantage of the increase in tax dollars soon to be raked into the general fund. The competitive bidding process, even though it is followed by some departments, has once again been

Learn more »

Living Well: Play not just fun and games — Kids need active, imaginary play to develop physically, emotionally and socially

April 17, 2018 — It's advice we should all take to heart, but it's especially important for kids: Get out and play. You may view play as simply kids messing around, but according to local occupational therapists, play is your child's occupation — it's what they need to do

Learn more »

The Bock’s Office: ‘A Quiet Place’ — They’re here, they hear, get used to it

April 14, 2018 — Any movie or TV show about an apocalyptic scenario is bound to have a niche audience of doomsday preppers and survivalists who almost wish it would come to fruition. Then you have a film like "A Quiet Place," which should have that crowd squealing with

Learn more »

Editorial: Lines separating fact, opinion too-often blurred

April 12, 2018 — With the rise of the internet, social media and streaming news services — and the subsequent 24-7 newscycle — the lines between objective news reporting and subjective commentary are becoming ever the more blurred. Admittedly, the media, itself, is at least partially to blame for

Learn more »

History in Focus: Naming of Yampa River has interesting history

April 12, 2018 — The history and culture of Northwest Colorado can be discovered in the names of our cities, places and geographic features. In our early history, the Yampa River was simultaneously named the Bear River. By the early 20th century, the name of the river had become

Learn more »

Dave and Carol Balleck: Readers grateful to local business

April 12, 2018 — We would like to thank Tom Cramer, of Cramer Flooring, for all the help he gave us in picking out our tile for our fireplace. He told us things that no one else would and helped in so many ways. The cost was really affordable.

Learn more »

Shannon Fatjo: Thankful for community support

April 12, 2018 — I began my internship with Moffat County Department of Human Services in late February. The first task I was included on, and later delegated, was the Foster Family Appreciation Banquet, and annual event to show appreciation for the foster families in Moffat County. I could

Learn more »

Stephanie Einfeld: Thanks for embracing Hospice Daffodils

April 12, 2018 — Thank you to everyone who participated in our 2018 Hospice Daffodils fundraiser. It was heartwarming to see daffodils in businesses, schools and homes throughout Moffat County. It is a testament to residents' kindness and compassion and the tremendous community support for patients and families who

Learn more »

Lisa Schlichtman: Colorado Journalism Week celebrates, honors working press

April 12, 2018 — To anyone who follows the news, it would appear the industry itself is under attack. Whether claims of "fake news" leveled by the president or cuts to already lean newsrooms, newspapers and media organizations are now in the rare position of making headlines. The most

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: 3 recipes for homemade macaroni and cheese

April 12, 2018 — I imagine just about everybody likes macaroni and cheese. We enjoy having it as a side dish with ham and other meats. Then, the next day, I mix the leftover macaroni and cheese with browned ground beef, green bell peppers, onion, tomato sauce, Worcestershire sauce

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: Columnist shares memories of bottle calves in Moffat County

April 12, 2018 — Some years, we finish up the calving season with one or two bottle calves here at Pipi's Pasture; some years, we don't have any. The "not any" years are lucky years, because feeding a bottle calf is an expensive business, and it means an extra

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: ‘Splish, Splash, Ducky’ great pick for young readers

April 10, 2018 — This week's new picture book for young readers (or to share with pre-school children) is great! The bold illustrations, done in gouache — a method of painting using opaque pigments ground in water and thickened with a gluelike substance — are in bright colors and

Learn more »