Opinion | CraigDailyPress.com

Opinion

Mike and Mardi Anson: Couple supports McKey for coroner

June 18, 2018 — We support Kirk McKey for Moffat County Coroner. We have known Mr. McKey for many years, being involved in numerous community service events and the Kiwanis Club of Craig. Kirk shows nothing less than compassion and dignity for this community and those who reside here.

Learn more »

John Kinkaid: Reader questions Rankin’s demeanor

June 18, 2018 — Bob Rankin is a poor choice for the House District 57 seat, and, if he should decide to run for the Senate District 8 seat in the future, he would also be a bad choice for that office. I don't remember the date, but about

Learn more »

Dave Wallace: Dumpsters not always the answer

June 18, 2018 — These early summer mornings are an excellent opportunity to get out and enjoy the fresh morning air and get a bit of exercise, plus, it provides a great start to a person's day. On Thursday morning, while walking my dogs, I decided to swing by

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: ‘This Jazz Man’ offers tribute to timeless musical style

June 18, 2018 — "This Jazz Man," by Karen Ehrhardt and illustrated by R.G. Roth, is this week's featured picture book. The book was recommended by Tania Bade, a librarian at the Craig branch of Moffat County Libraries. Though it has a copyright of 2006, the book is new

Learn more »

Memorial Regional Health: Benefits of exercise extend beyond weight — physical activity good for mental health, disease prevention, happiness

June 17, 2018 — Colorado might have the lowest obesity rate in the United States, but about a quarter of Moffat County residents are obese and physically inactive, according to state health rankings. Adults should do at least 150 minutes per week of moderate exercise, 75 minutes per week

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: Observations on fatherhood

June 14, 2018 — Sunday is Father's Day. My husband, Lyle, is a father, grandfather and great-grandfather. In addition, our sons, Jody and Jami, are fathers to grown children. The family's newest father is grandson Kenny, who has a 3-month-old son, Brian. That makes Jamie a grandfather, too. So,

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Treats for Father’s Day

June 14, 2018 — Sunday is Father's Day. The "Pumpkin Pie Cake" recipe, contributed by Patty Myers and featured in last week's column, would be a great dessert for a Father's Day celebration meal. This week, I also found a recipe for" Pumpkin Bars." I had forgotten the recipe,

Learn more »

Across the Street: Who won the Civil War?

June 14, 2018 — Who won the Civil War? Is your answer based on "facts" or on yours, or someone else's, interpretation? Last month the State Board of Education reviewed and voted on Social Studies Standards which include, history, geography, economics and civics. The word "interpret" appeared 90 times

Learn more »

Bo and Myranda Lyons: Readers express support for McKey

June 14, 2018 — Commitment, dedication, and caring are three things that describe coroner Dr. Kirk McKey. His commitment to this community is unmatched. He has donated hundreds of hours of community service for various organizations, not to mention the hard work he has put in as the coroner

Learn more »

Kirk McKey: Coroner candidate addresses funeral home fees

June 14, 2018 — I made this statement during the Candidate Forum, and I want to repeat it. Jesse Arthurs and the staff at the funeral home are sharp, smart, compassionate and do any excellent job in their profession. SCI of Texas is fortunate to have them as employees.

Learn more »

Jane Hume: Reader disagrees with board appointment

June 14, 2018 — To Gov. John Hickenlooper: Just found out you did not retain Jean White on the Colorado Community College System board. Also learned you replaced White with a man from California. Did you think a respected lady with a vast knowledge of the advantages and challenges

Learn more »

Patricia Jones: Powerful words can bring about change

June 14, 2018 — Words are powerful. Powerful words can cause change. For example, Patrick Henry roused the people with his "Give me liberty or give me death" statement. Martin Luther King, Jr. changed the nation with his "I Have a Dream" speech. Paul introduced God to the Athenians

Learn more »

Editorial: Fire safety 101

June 14, 2018 — Though the calendar won't agree for another week yet, outdoor conditions are telling us summer has arrived in Northwest Colorado. That means camping, hiking, cookouts, trips to the pool, outdoor festivals —and, unfortunately, wildfires. Already, multiple blazes are popping up across the state. In southwestern

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: ‘Bertha and the Frog Choir’ engaging picture book for children

June 12, 2018 — Whenever I review a children's book, I can't help but think of the children's literature classes I taught at Colorado Northwestern Community College. My students and I met one or more times per week at the Craig Library so the students could find the type

Learn more »

Living Well: Addressing the opioid issue: MRH launches pain management program to combat problem

June 12, 2018 — The national concerns about opioid overuse and addiction have reached Craig, and local health care providers want to do something positive about it. Their goal is to help people who suffer from chronic pain create a workable plan to ease their pain. That's why skilled

Learn more »

Under the Dome: Running fast or catching up?

June 12, 2018 — The 2018 Legislative session is over, and now, I have time to meet with constituents and state department personnel to catch up and learn more about issues I'll need to study before the next session begins (Nov. 1 for the Joint Budget Committee). I enjoy

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: Baking cakes and our conscience

June 12, 2018 — The big news of the past few weeks has been the U.S. Supreme Court's decision regarding a Colorado bakery owner's refusal to bake a cake for a homosexual couple. The owner of the cake shop yielded to his deeply held conviction that he could not

Learn more »

Jesse Arthurs: Coroner candidate clarifies position

June 12, 2018 — I would like to take this opportunity to address the comment that stated I am more vested and have more ties to a corporation in Texas. First of all, my family settled in Axial Basin in the early 1950s. My family has lived and worked

Learn more »

Readers voice support for Raschke

June 12, 2018 — As employees of the Recording and Motor Vehicle Departments, Debbie Winder, Stacy Morgan and Debbie Medina are asking for your support for Tammy Raschke as our next clerk and recorder. Tammy shines with professionalism, knowledge, honesty and solid work ethics. She is very self-motivated, loyal

Learn more »

Editorial: Definition of community

June 7, 2018 — It's odd how, sometimes, the worst in us is what brings out the best in us … the best of us. Late last month, someone — or perhaps several someones —broke into the Community Budget Center and helped themselves to a television set and an

Learn more »