Opinion | CraigDailyPress.com

Opinion

Memorial Regional Health: Aging and falling — falls among leading cause of injury for adults older than 65

September 21, 2018 — About one in four older adults falls every year — with one fall doubling the chances of falling again. Falling is one of the leading causes of injury affecting adults older than 65, resulting in more than 3 million emergency department visits per year in

Learn more »

Editorial: It is in giving …

September 20, 2018 — We borrow today's headline from the prayer of St. Francis of Assisi, patron saint of animals and ecology and one of the most venerated figures in the history of Christianity. And, though the prayer, itself, has been characterized as a declaration of intent and faith,

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: ‘Toaff’s Way,’ a novel about a squirrel

September 20, 2018 — "Toaff's Way" was written by Newbery Medalist Cynthia Voigt. The book's black-and-white illustrations were created by Sydney Hanson. This 2018 novel for young readers is published by Alfred A. Knopf. There's one thing about this novel — the author knows a thing or two about

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: Dodging the little stinkers

September 20, 2018 — Lately some young skunks here at Pipi's Pasture have been getting our attention. We're not sure just how many there are — at least two and maybe even three or four. They're rather small, so we think the skunks are from a litter of babies

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: One more rhubarb recipe

September 20, 2018 — We've just finished picking apples off the two trees in our front yard, a bumper crop this year, as with the plum and apples trees at the Morapos ranch. Now, family members and friends are searching for recipes to use up the apples. Starting next

Learn more »

Dave Ulrich: Positive academic achievement

September 20, 2018 — We have good news to start the school year and yet another reason to choose Moffat County School District! Our district earned the rating of Performance (Accredited) from the Colorado Department of Education for the 2017-18 school year! This is the second year in a row

Learn more »

Dave Wallace: The perils of democracy

September 20, 2018 — As summer tapers off and another Labor Day holiday has come and gone, we realize once again the dog days of summer are fading fast. The midterm elections will soon be here, and we will have the opportunity to vote for a number of representatives

Learn more »

The Haven: Celebrate National Assisted Living Week

September 20, 2018 — This month, we celebrated National Assisted Living Week. This year's theme, "Capture the Moment," reminds us to seize the day and continue to find purpose in life. Residents at The Haven Assisted Living Facility in Hayden certainly give purpose to those who work here. It

Learn more »

Melissa Dowd: Veterinarian’s compassion deeply appreciated

September 20, 2018 — I would like to say a very heartfelt thanks to Dr. Wayne Davis and his staff for their care and compassion during a very painful moment in my life. The sensitivity Dr. Davis showed me over the loss of my dog went above and beyond.

Learn more »

Janet Sheridan: While others frolicked     

September 18, 2018 — "Remember," Mom said, "I want the washing finished and the young ones happy when I get home." Then, she escaped out the door, leaving me with a mountain of dirty clothes and three unabashedly disorderly siblings. I headed to the basement, leaving Barbara, Blaine, and

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: It’s gotta be true!

September 18, 2018 — A long time ago, when I was a wee lad and I had all of my future well out in front of me, something happened. I can't really say what it was, because as embarrassing episodes go, this one was a doozy! But suffice it

Learn more »

Editorial: Cost versus benefit

September 13, 2018 — Cost–benefit analysis is defined as a systematic strategy to compare the potential benefits of a certain course of action to the costs associated with taking that action. One of the main applications of this technique is to help decide whether an investment or decision is

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: Storing food for winter

September 13, 2018 — Last week's column, about the basement where we kept canned goods, has had me thinking about the kinds of foods that were stored there. During the winter, we ate from the canned goods that lined the basement shelves and from the gunny sacks full of

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: A favorite soup recipe

September 13, 2018 — With fall-like weather upon us, I decided to make soup this week. "Cabbage Soup" is one of my favorite soup recipes. It is also one of the first recipes to be featured in "Over a Cup of Coffee." I'm repeating the recipe, but I think

Learn more »

Under the Dome: Candidates for office warrant respect

September 12, 2018 — We just got home after a weekend in Grand Junction at the Club 20 annual Steak Fry and Debates, famous this year because one of the candidates for governor declined to attend. Plenty of other aspirants to public office filled the space in an all-day

Learn more »

Harriet Freiberger: ‘Reflecting absence’ and remembering Sept. 11

September 11, 2018 — “Reflecting absence …” A 58-ton welded piece of steel and a battered concrete staircase speak what words fail to say. We bury what cannot be buried and touch that which cannot be touched. Monuments tell of lifetimes, satisfy the yearning that defines our singular species.

Learn more »

Edward Packard: Trump, Tipton, and American democracy

September 11, 2018 — Jeff Sessions met twice with the Russian ambassador, which he failed to disclose in a Congressional hearing. He had no choice but to recuse himself from matters arising from the unanimous conclusion of our intelligence services that Russia criminally interfered in the 2016 elections and

Learn more »

History in Focus: Remembering the giants

September 11, 2018 — Over the past three years, this column has focused on the stories of 30 men from Moffat County who served and died in World War II. These articles started as a project in researching and writing about local history but quickly turned into an intensely

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: Memories of 9-11

September 11, 2018 — History passed us by just the other day, and we didn't stop, because we had not the time. In our rush to get ahead and be on time and make sure everything is getting done, we forgot to take the time to remember why the

Learn more »

Joyce Rankin: Students continue to improve

September 11, 2018 — School is underway, and a highlight of the August State Board of Education meeting was to review students' achievement measures from last year and assess how teachers might move forward this year. Preliminary results from the 2018 assessments were revealed to the public in August.

Learn more »