Opinion | CraigDailyPress.com

Opinion

History in Focus: The energy of faith

February 18, 2019 — On May 12, 1900, the Congregational Church, the city's second-oldest church, was started in a meeting at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Collum with 15 charter members. From that humble beginning, the church still exists as a symbol of Craig's energetic early beginnings and

Learn more »

Memorial Regional Health: Preventative health care — Memorial Regional Health offers both medical and cosmetic dermatology services

February 15, 2019 — Editor’s note: The following article is sponsored by Memorial Regional Health. We spend a lot of time thinking about the internal body when it comes to health care, but sometimes we overlook caring for the most visible thing about us: our skin. Annual skin check-ups

Learn more »

Editorial: Worthy idea, poor execution

February 14, 2019 — Near the close of an emotional meeting of the Craig City Council on Tuesday, city leaders voted to put the brakes on discussions about the possible consolidation of city/county services and place a five-year moratorium on any such talks in the future.

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Celebrating Washington’s birthday

February 14, 2019 — Traditionally, George Washington's birthday is celebrated with a cherry dessert — like cherry pie, for example. Your family might enjoy celebrating Feb. 22 (or perhaps Presidents' Day) this coming Monday with one of the desserts featured in this week's column. Both recipes are from my

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: A special month, indeed

February 14, 2019 — Strange that February should be one of my favorite months, considering my dislike of winter. However, my February memories were formed when I was a child growing up on the ranch, and though there was plenty of snow, there were other things, too — like

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: When a horse meets dog

February 12, 2019 — This week's picture book for children is a funny story about a horse and dog that happen to meet up and end up "exploring" their differences. "Horse Meets Dog" was written by Elliott Kalan and illustrated by Tim Miller. The book is intended for children

Learn more »

Living Well: Know your heart health numbers — Remember heart health at your next check-up

February 12, 2019 — Anyone, including children, can develop heart disease, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Heart disease occurs when plaque builds up in the arteries — over time, plaque hardens and narrows the arteries. Arteries are blood vessels that carry oxygen-rich blood to the

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: Can we still forgive?

February 12, 2019 — Have you ever done something you regretted? At work, at home, with your kids, at a game, in front of people you care about? Or what about 30 or 40 years ago? The self righteousness dressed up as virtuous discussion in the national media these

Learn more »

Chuck Cobb: Property values similar to weather forecasts

February 12, 2019 — Editor's note: The following is the final column in a series about the processes involved with property assessment. I have discovered during my short tenure as your county assessor that trying to predict property values is like trying to predict the weather. Values will and

Learn more »

Pat Dalrymple: Mortgage companies are raising some red flags

February 11, 2019 — Residential mortgage fundings are down, a result of a combination of higher interest rates (although they’re still not very high) and housing costs, primarily caused by rising material and labor costs. Fewer homes are being bought, so there’s a softening in the housing market. Since

Learn more »

Editorial: Don’t become a statistic

February 7, 2019 — According to the Colorado Department of Transportation, 628 people were killed in automobile crashes on Colorado roadways in 2018, a slight decrease from 2017 numbers, but still a troubling statistic, particularly when one considers how many of those deaths might have been prevented. Another —

Learn more »

Janet Sheridan: Valentines of note     

February 7, 2019 — I received a valentine in fifth grade that thrilled me from the top of my haphazard hair to the tips of my scuffed shoes. It featured a happy elephant driving a blue jalopy and the caption, "You auto be my valentine." Nothing special, until I

Learn more »

2019 re-appraisal: Where are we going?

February 7, 2019 — Editor's note: The following is the second column in an ongoing series about the processes involved with property assessment. For this column, I will focus primarily on the residential sector and try to help you better understand a few of the variables that will affect

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: Finding bare ground

February 7, 2019 — Yesterday afternoon when I stepped off the front porch and headed to the corral to do the chores, I noticed that Patches, the multicolored cat, was sitting on a spot of bare ground a few feet away from the porch. Another cat was sitting on

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Mexican casseroles

February 7, 2019 — Winter is time for hearty meals, and this column features two recipes for Mexican casseroles using chicken as the meat. The "Mexican Chicken" comes from Marcey Dyer, of Pierce (where I used to teach school), who gave me permission to reprint her recipes. The second

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: The first ‘Mary Poppins’ book

February 5, 2019 — This week's book is intended for the young adult reader, but younger readers will enjoy having the book read to them. It's "Mary Poppins," written by P.L. Travers back in 1934, with two renewed copyrights, the most recent in 1981. The book was illustrated by

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: Educating myself

February 5, 2019 — A few weeks ago, I made the foray into the legalized marijuana issue Craig has been dealing with and decided I should educate myself a little more, because I was told by a few people around town that I was ignorant about the issue. What

Learn more »

Memorial Regional Health: After an inpatient hospital stay, heading home requires help — MRH expands transition care services to ensure patients leave hospital setting with tools needed to succeed at home

January 31, 2019 — Editor's note: The following article is sponsored by Memorial Regional Health. Transitioning from hospital inpatient care to home can be a challenging time for patients who are already dealing with so much. This is why Memorial Regional Health has expanded its transition care services to

Learn more »

Connections 4 Kids: Early childhood learning yields lifelong rewards

January 31, 2019 — Did you know that, from birth to age 5, a child learns at a speed unmatched to the rest of his or her life? An estimated 85 to 90 percent of the brain develops during these early years. Think about that. Let it soak in.

Learn more »

Kathy Shea: Senior Social Center grateful for support

January 31, 2019 — The Senior Social Center would like to thank the generosity of the following  people who made our membership meeting be as well-attended and as fun as it was! Thanks to the John Wayne Band, the city of Craig Park and Recreation Department, Alicia Baker, the

Learn more »