Opinion | CraigDailyPress.com

Opinion

Rick Holford: Action on blighted houses appreciated

February 20, 2019 — Glad to see that the city is finally doing something about the unoccupied homes that have been a blight on Craig for some time. These homes have devalued other properties near them, and anyone considering moving to Craig and seeing the uninhabitable homes would probably

Learn more »

Michelle Perry: From the way things were to the way they will be

February 20, 2019 — Editor's note: Michelle Perry is executive director of Craig/Moffat Economic Development Partnership and Marianna Raftopoulos Business Success Center, both of which have dissolved, effective today, Wednesday, Feb. 20. This final column is co-authored by the 2019 Board of Directors: Chairman Luke Tucker, Vice Chairman/Secretary Rich

Learn more »

Living Well: Foundational issues — Are foot, ankle problems keeping you down?

February 19, 2019 — Podiatry is the treatment of disorders of the foot and ankle, including the toes and heels. A podiatrist is a specially trained physician, often a surgeon, with the initials DPM (doctor of podiatric medicine) behind his or her name. According to the America Association of

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: Kristin Hannah offers novel about family

February 19, 2019 — Kristin Hannah, author of "The Things We Do for Love" (this week's featured novel), has written 23 novels and is a #1 New York Times bestselling author. What stands out for me about this novel is the way the author has crafted the characters. It's

Learn more »

John Kinkaid: Reader grateful to Nichols for business acumen, vision

February 19, 2019 — If Chris Nichols has identified ways to save $750,000 per year for taxpayers by combining the Craig Police Department and the Moffat County Sheriff's Office, God bless him. He deserves our thanks. We are headed to more painful and challenging times down the road. The closures of

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: Reflections on Presidents’ Day

February 19, 2019 — President's Day is a nice, long weekend that falls somewhere between being really tired of winter and getting really excited about spring. Presidents used to be people we looked up to, no matter our political leanings. We were all in it together, and while we

Learn more »

Museum Monday: Bringing back Harry Tracy

February 18, 2019 — Editor’s note: Through a cooperative agreement with the Museum of Northwest Colorado, the Craig Press will begin publishing “Museum Monday” in each Wednesday’s edition of the Craig Press. "In all the criminal lore of the country there is no record equal to that of Harry

Learn more »

History in Focus: The energy of faith

February 18, 2019 — On May 12, 1900, the Congregational Church, the city's second-oldest church, was started in a meeting at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Collum with 15 charter members. From that humble beginning, the church still exists as a symbol of Craig's energetic early beginnings and

Learn more »

Memorial Regional Health: Preventative health care — Memorial Regional Health offers both medical and cosmetic dermatology services

February 15, 2019 — Editor’s note: The following article is sponsored by Memorial Regional Health. We spend a lot of time thinking about the internal body when it comes to health care, but sometimes we overlook caring for the most visible thing about us: our skin. Annual skin check-ups

Learn more »

Editorial: Worthy idea, poor execution

February 14, 2019 — Near the close of an emotional meeting of the Craig City Council on Tuesday, city leaders voted to put the brakes on discussions about the possible consolidation of city/county services and place a five-year moratorium on any such talks in the future.

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Celebrating Washington’s birthday

February 14, 2019 — Traditionally, George Washington's birthday is celebrated with a cherry dessert — like cherry pie, for example. Your family might enjoy celebrating Feb. 22 (or perhaps Presidents' Day) this coming Monday with one of the desserts featured in this week's column. Both recipes are from my

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: A special month, indeed

February 14, 2019 — Strange that February should be one of my favorite months, considering my dislike of winter. However, my February memories were formed when I was a child growing up on the ranch, and though there was plenty of snow, there were other things, too — like

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: When a horse meets dog

February 12, 2019 — This week's picture book for children is a funny story about a horse and dog that happen to meet up and end up "exploring" their differences. "Horse Meets Dog" was written by Elliott Kalan and illustrated by Tim Miller. The book is intended for children

Learn more »

Living Well: Know your heart health numbers — Remember heart health at your next check-up

February 12, 2019 — Anyone, including children, can develop heart disease, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Heart disease occurs when plaque builds up in the arteries — over time, plaque hardens and narrows the arteries. Arteries are blood vessels that carry oxygen-rich blood to the

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: Can we still forgive?

February 12, 2019 — Have you ever done something you regretted? At work, at home, with your kids, at a game, in front of people you care about? Or what about 30 or 40 years ago? The self righteousness dressed up as virtuous discussion in the national media these

Learn more »

Chuck Cobb: Property values similar to weather forecasts

February 12, 2019 — Editor's note: The following is the final column in a series about the processes involved with property assessment. I have discovered during my short tenure as your county assessor that trying to predict property values is like trying to predict the weather. Values will and

Learn more »

Pat Dalrymple: Mortgage companies are raising some red flags

February 11, 2019 — Residential mortgage fundings are down, a result of a combination of higher interest rates (although they’re still not very high) and housing costs, primarily caused by rising material and labor costs. Fewer homes are being bought, so there’s a softening in the housing market. Since

Learn more »

Editorial: Don’t become a statistic

February 7, 2019 — According to the Colorado Department of Transportation, 628 people were killed in automobile crashes on Colorado roadways in 2018, a slight decrease from 2017 numbers, but still a troubling statistic, particularly when one considers how many of those deaths might have been prevented. Another —

Learn more »

Janet Sheridan: Valentines of note     

February 7, 2019 — I received a valentine in fifth grade that thrilled me from the top of my haphazard hair to the tips of my scuffed shoes. It featured a happy elephant driving a blue jalopy and the caption, "You auto be my valentine." Nothing special, until I

Learn more »

2019 re-appraisal: Where are we going?

February 7, 2019 — Editor's note: The following is the second column in an ongoing series about the processes involved with property assessment. For this column, I will focus primarily on the residential sector and try to help you better understand a few of the variables that will affect

Learn more »