Opinion | CraigDailyPress.com

Opinion

Memorial Regional Health: Speech therapy essential for many stroke victims — Memorial Regional Health offers comprehensive speech language therapy services

December 14, 2018 — After a stroke, patients can experience a wide range of symptoms depending on where the stroke occurred in the brain and how severe it was. Patients who experience facial paralysis and speech impairment after a stroke typically need ongoing speech therapy. At Memorial Regional Hospital,

Learn more »

Allen Hischke: Support recreational marijuana petition

December 13, 2018 — Recently, the Craig Press ran a story about a petition to place recreational marijuana on the 2019 municipal ballot. There was also a recent “Letter To The Editor” by Mr. John Kincaid that spoke of the tighter rein taxes and fees are placing on all

Learn more »

History in Focus: Dreams of the future

December 13, 2018 — Northwest Colorado appears to be entering a new and trying era. The old securities that built and developed Moffat County are giving way to an uncertain future, but a quick glimpse back into 1916 reveals Moffat County faced similar difficulties about its economy and future.

Learn more »

Editorial: Anger to action

December 13, 2018 — On Monday, a jury found former Moffat County High School teacher and coach Justin Dean Folley not guilty of 10 counts of felony sexual exploitation of a child.

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: Finding the decorations

December 13, 2018 — The first Christmas Lyle and I were married, we went somewhere in the mountains around Fort Collins, where we were allowed to cut a tree for a ridiculously low fee (maybe even a couple of dollars). That's all we could afford, because I was in

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Christmas Eve Soup

December 13, 2018 — As part of a Christmas Eve tradition, our family enjoys soup with the evening meal, usually oyster stew. In earlier years, when our children lived in Craig, we spent Christmas Eve with our son Jamie and family. Daughter-in-law Brandi always fixed crockpots of clam chowder

Learn more »

Under the Dome: Is K-12 financing fair to anyone?

December 13, 2018 — Amendment 73 failed at the ballot in November, despite a massive effort by administrators, teachers, and their supporters to increase school funding. Through the state budget, I've consistently supported more K12 funding and, specifically, higher pay for teachers, but I opposed the tax structure proposed

Learn more »

Across the Street: What is accountability?

December 11, 2018 — At its November meeting, the State Board of Education considered the consequences of the failed performance of Adams 14 school district and two Pueblo middle schools. By law, the board is required to intervene after five years on the "accountability clock." In 2018, the district

Learn more »

John Kinkaid: Reader feels ‘squeezed’ by fee increases

December 11, 2018 — If the Craig City Council votes to implement the proposed water and sewer rate hikes, in five years, we will be paying 10.4 percent more for water and 15.9 percent more for sewer. And, city is also asking for an increase in landfill fees. When you

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: ‘Froggy’s Best Christmas’ a fun holiday book for kids

December 11, 2018 — This week's column features a children's picture book that's sure to make readers smile. Froggy, Matthew, and Travis — characters in "Froggy's Best Christmas" — have never celebrated the holiday before, because they have always been asleep, but this year, Max, the beaver, decides to

Learn more »

Rick Holford: Kudos to KRAI Holiday Drive volunteers

December 11, 2018 — Having participated in the KRAI Holiday Drive over many years, I was especially pleased to see the new owner of the radio station so actively involved. When Frank Hanel initiated the drive, it was designed to help as many people as possible during the Christmas season

Learn more »

Memorial Regional Health Living Well: Depression common in seniors — Loss of independence, ability mount as people age

December 11, 2018 — Seniors are especially prone to depression, and loss is often the reason. As we age, we lose our independence, our ability to get around physically, our good health, our sense of purpose, and most significantly, people we love. Add a natural decrease in neurotransmitters that

Learn more »

Janet Sheridan: From a rental’s journal

December 11, 2018 — When the first sentence of a student essay announced, "I pondered this assignment for many long hours," I knew Stella had written it. Despite my increasing insistence that she try a new approach, the dear girl always began by telling me how long she pondered

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: Revisiting Atticus Finch

December 11, 2018 — I worked up the courage to read "Go Set A Watchman" this past weekend. I didn't really intend to complete Harper Lee's sequel to the classic "To Kill A Mockingbird" in two days, but opportunity presented itself, and I actually got caught up in the

Learn more »

Memorial Regional Health: After illness or injury, home health care essential — To prevent complications after a hospital stay, MRH works to ensure patients taken care of at home

December 9, 2018 — Editor's note: The following article is sponsored content from Memorial Regional Health. Following a stay in the hospital for illness or injury, transitioning to the home can be a task that requires some extra help from trained professionals. Oftentimes, the transition from hospital to home

Learn more »

Editorial: A great first step

December 6, 2018 — Last week in this space, we editorialized about the vital role transparency and community involvement play in building and maintaining effective, responsive government, especially at the local level, and this week, we witnessed a sterling example. On Tuesday, the recently formed Joint Services Workgroup —

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: Memories of early December

December 6, 2018 — As I look through the dining room windows this morning, I'm thinking that what I'm seeing could be a scene on a Christmas card. Just across the fence, in Pipi's Pasture, the cows are eating hay which, only a short while ago, we spread out

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Making Christmas candy

December 6, 2018 — One thing we all enjoy about the Christmas season is Christmas candy. Because I don't have a lot of time, I enjoy making candies that don't require a candy thermometer. People who are successful at making candy tell me they wait for a clear, dry

Learn more »

Robin Schiffbauer: Community Kitchen in need of volunteers

December 6, 2018 — To the community: Thank you always for your support of St. Michael's Community Kitchen. We are in need of volunteers. If you have the time and heart to help, we would love to have you join us. We need drivers to deliver to the home

Learn more »

David Ulrich: December’s Moffat County School District snippets

December 6, 2018 — As we move into the Christmas holiday break, I thought it would be good to update the community on the district's progress on a couple of items. First, as a reminder, the last day for students is Friday, Dec. 21. Students return on Tuesday, Jan.

Learn more »