Columns | CraigDailyPress.com

Opinion > Columns >

Columns

Over a Cup of Coffee: Making fancy pies

October 18, 2019

Last week Audrey Danner of Craig brought me two boxes of recipe books. She was “downsizing” her recipe book collection and wanted to know if I’d like to have the books. Of course I did, so since then I’ve had fun reading through them. In fact, I made a pie from a recipe in one of the books.


Janet Sheridan: I conquer my shyness

October 18, 2019

At 15, I studied a small, black-and-white snapshot of myself as a toddler with unruly hair and a bashful smile, peeking warily from behind my aproned mother. “I guess I’ve always been shy. Why didn’t someone do something to change me?” as though a pill or bit of advice could have turned me into an outgoing charmer.


From Pipi’s Pasture: The dining room table

October 18, 2019

Three Saturdays ago we moved cattle home from summer pasture. It was about 1 p.m. when we unloaded the first two trailers at Pipi’s Pasture so we decided to stop for lunch.




Lance Scranton: Principles or profit?

October 16, 2019

It is more than a little disheartening to hear all of the controversy over the NBA and their relationship to commenting on China’s human rights abuses. Walk down just about any street in America and...


Over a Cup of Coffee: A fancy salad — or dessert

October 11, 2019

A couple of days ago I took my metal recipe file of recipe cards down from the top cupboard by the stove. It is filled with recipes that I have collected since before I was married. I don’t remember where I got some of them. I thought maybe I’d find a recipe that I’d like to try again, and what I found, among others, are two salad recipes.


History in Focus: Desert drama

October 11, 2019

The American West is a continually unfolding drama of tensions between development and growth, the dream of land ownership, a thirsty and arid climate, and the resulting political battles. In 1915, these tensions came to Moffat County with the establishment of the Great Divide Colony No. 1, a unique and doomed farming settlement scheme.



David Henderson: Overcoming division

October 11, 2019

At least once a week I have a conversation that goes something like this: “So, are you a priest?” (My black cassock is a giveaway.) I reply, “Yes, I’m an Orthodox priest.” With a somewhat...


From Pipi’s Pasture: Moving the cows home

October 11, 2019

Each October, usually the first weekend, we move the cows, calves, and bulls home from summer pasture. We gather them using 4-wheeler vehicles, walk them down the road to my brother Duane’s corrals, pair them up, and haul them back to Pipi’s Pasture by trailers. The cattle have grazed the same pasture area for about twenty years — Unbelievable! — and even though we are always consistent in the move process, that doesn’t mean the years haven’t been different.


Northwest Colorado Health: Nurse-Family Partnership celebrates 20 years in Yampa Valley

October 10, 2019

The Nurse-Family Partnership program is free for first-time moms who financially qualify, providing regular home visits from specially trained nurses during pregnancy and through a child’s second birthday. Since its inception in 1999, over 26,000 women have enrolled in Colorado Nurse-Family Partnership, and nearly 4,000 women are served annually by 150 nurses in all of Colorado’s 64 counties.


Prather’s Pick: A future classic

October 9, 2019

This week’s novel is an absolute delight. “A Man Called Ove” was written by Fredrik Blackman in 2014. He is also the author of “My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry,” an equally charming novel.


Lance Scranton: Loud voices

October 9, 2019

Columnists and opinion writers once held the power and privilege to wield a powerful voice made louder and more influential based upon circulation of newspapers. I grew up reading the opinion page and various columnists...


Janet Sheridan: Seems odd to me

October 4, 2019

In first-grade, at every recess, I played chase: a simple game in which participants randomly chased one another, running and grabbing, huffing and puffing, shrieking and laughing. If a player chanced to catch another, they simply chased each other again or dashed off in pursuit of someone else. Catching didn’t matter. The fun was in the chase.


Over a Cup of Coffee: ​Making apple pies

October 4, 2019

​There are lots of apples available right now so this week’s column features two recipes for making apple pies. I’m not good at making pies, mostly because I work the pie dough too much and so the crust turns out tasting tough.


David Ulrich: The status of the Yampa Building

October 4, 2019

As part of my ongoing effort to communicate facts surrounding the Yampa Building at 775 Yampa Ave., I want the community to know that on Thursday, September 26, the Moffat County School District Board of Education reviewed suggestions submitted by community members for the use of the building.


From Pipi’s Pasture: ​​​Life’s little gifts

October 4, 2019

​This morning as I left the house to do morning chores, my jacket was zipped up and my hood was tied firmly in place. That’s probably why I didn’t notice that it was sprinkling rain. In fact, it wasn’t until I reached the stock tank at the corral that I saw raindrops falling on the water. There was no wind for a change, and we were getting a little rain — two nice gifts.



Prather’s Pick: A remarkable true story

October 2, 2019

A few weeks ago my sister, Darlene Blackford of Rocky Ford, sent me this week’s book. She had read it some time ago and was touched by the author’s story. So am I.