Columns | CraigDailyPress.com

Opinion > Columns >

Columns

Janet Sheridan: The importance of stories
Janet Sheridan: The importance of stories

May 17, 2019

Stories enrich our lives. We tell them, listen to them, read them, repeat them, write them, watch them on TV, enjoy them in theaters. Stories teach us, entertain us, make us laugh, ease our social situations, and cement our friendships.


Across the Street: My two bills worth
Across the Street: My two bills worth

May 17, 2019

Spring has arrived at last, and the legislative session has come to an end, not without a huge sigh of relief from many who work at the Capitol.



Over a Cup of Coffee: Chicken with rice
Over a Cup of Coffee: Chicken with rice

May 17, 2019

I’m so busy that I enjoy making dishes that have it all—meat, a “carb,” and veggies, all in one. The dishes are quick to make, are tasty, and since there are veggies in the dishes, my family members are more apt to eat them.


Prather’s Pick: A Max Einstein novel
Prather’s Pick: A Max Einstein novel

May 15, 2019

It’s been awhile since I have reviewed a novel intended for young adults, but then I found “Max Einstein: The Genius Experiment,” by James Patterson and Chris Grabenstein. The illustrations were done by Beverly Johnson.


Under the Dome: Thoughts after Senate sessions
Under the Dome: Thoughts after Senate sessions

May 15, 2019

Well, one of the most contentious sessions in the history of the Colorado Legislature has come to a close, not with a bang but almost a whimper and we were all headed home before midnight on the last day. I’m not sure whether to report on the bad, the good or the just plain ugly moments.


Lance Scranton: Sore feet is no excuse
Lance Scranton: Sore feet is no excuse

May 14, 2019

One of my students' favorite Friday Stories is about a young man who lost both legs when he was run over by a tractor-trailer at the tender age of 6 years old. His story progresses through his 11th year when he was the subject of a former teacher’s Friday Story about how, “I once complained about sore feet, until I met a man with no legs.”


History in Focus: Bridges over the troubled Yampa
History in Focus: Bridges over the troubled Yampa

May 10, 2019

After a winter of bountiful snowfall, the annual spring run-off is quickly turning the Yampa River into a muddy torrent. As reservoirs fill, relief from the drought looks promising, and the anticipation of a glorious summer of rafting, fishing, and tubing is on the horizon.


Over a Cup of Coffee: Cooking with rhubarb
Over a Cup of Coffee: Cooking with rhubarb

May 10, 2019

When it comes to pies it’s hard to beat rhubarb and strawberry. Rhubarb should be coming on in gardens soon. This week’s column features two recipes for using rhubarb, one of which is Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie.


From Pipi’s Pasture: One of life’s little moments
From Pipi’s Pasture: One of life’s little moments

May 10, 2019

This spring a robin has decided to nest in one of the tall poplar trees that grow in front of our house. The nest is hidden about halfway up in the tree where a big branch forks off from the trunk, leaving a little crook in between. The nest is so well-hidden that I would not have known it was there at all if I hadn’t caught sight of the mother robin one morning as she was busy doing something with the nest.


Prather’s Pick: A book without words
Prather’s Pick: A book without words

May 8, 2019

It can’t be easy to author a book without words. The reader has to rely on visual clues—for example, the characters’ expressions and other forms of body language. “Found,” this week’s picture book, for ages 4 to 8, is a book without words.


From the Museum Archives: An unbelievable tale of a cursed family
From the Museum Archives: An unbelievable tale of a cursed family

May 7, 2019

Joe Ward first appeared in today’s Moffat County in 1884. In a region known for tough men, Joe Ward was instantly considered a tough man. He filed for a homestead about 20 miles southwest of Craig next to the newly constructed Government Bridge which is still located on Moffat County Road 17.


Lance Scranton: Dress codes and expectations
Lance Scranton: Dress codes and expectations

May 7, 2019

Not since the local water controversy has an issue stirred up as much discussion and debate. Seems as though anytime local leaders make a decision involving local public services; opinions start flowing as fast as the Yampa during spring runoff.



Over a Cup of Coffee: Recipes for the campfire
Over a Cup of Coffee: Recipes for the campfire

May 3, 2019

As I write this column, it’s snowing and the ground is white, so it doesn’t look much like the season for cookouts and campfires. However, the weather will warm up again in a day or two. This week’s column features two recipes for cooking outdoors, either in campfire coals or on the grill.


From Pipi’s Pasture: More memories of Morapos School
From Pipi’s Pasture: More memories of Morapos School

May 3, 2019

Now that I’m grown up, I wish that, when I was in the seventh or eighth grade, I had kept a diary of my days spent as a pupil at the Morapos School. I have forgotten so much! There would have been so many more memories to share.


Janet Sheridan: The day of a dawdler
Janet Sheridan: The day of a dawdler

May 2, 2019

Joel tells me I piddle around. He’s right. However, I prefer to think of myself as a dilly-dallier because it sounds more ladylike. Just yesterday, my plan to start a slow-cooker dinner, wash the windows, and write a poem faded like my youth — with haste and without heed.


Prather’s Pick: A novel about the power of faith
Prather’s Pick: A novel about the power of faith

May 1, 2019

​The setting for this week’s novel is the state of Idaho, a state that author Robin Lee Hatcher knows well. She lives there. “Who I Am with You,” a novel for adults, is the first in the Legacy of Faith series. Hatcher is the author of more than seventy-five books.