Opinion | CraigDailyPress.com

Opinion

Len Browning: Reader supports coroner candidate

May 27, 2018 — When thinking about the attributes and qualifications for the position of Moffat County coroner many things come to mind. I would like to address three of the most important: motivation, capability and availability. As young as he is, Jesse Arthurs has been involved in the

Learn more »

Len Browning: Good citizenship – a Biblical imperative

May 27, 2018 — Remind them to be subject to rulers, to authorities, to be obedient, to be ready for every good deed, 2 to malign no one, to be peaceable, gentle, showing every consideration for all men.  — Titus 3:1 The Apostle Paul's words to his "son in the

Learn more »

Memorial Regional Health: In health and fitness, the work is never complete

May 27, 2018 — Proper fitness is a common theme in health care throughout life, but it becomes increasingly important as people age. People often think of fitness in terms of physical health, but for seniors, it's only part of the equation, according to Jackie Camp, activities coordinator at

Learn more »

Janet Sheridan: Let’s try it again    

May 24, 2018 — When young, I didn't want acne, bedbugs, a driver's license or my Uncle Gus to teach me. Especially the last two. The idea of operating a deadly machine while watching for loose dogs, traffic signals, errant drivers, jaywalking pedestrians and officers of the law overwhelmed

Learn more »

Editorial: Preserve and treasure

May 24, 2018 — There's no way around it: The recent destruction of two pieces of locally produced art — though inadvertent — was a huge loss to our community. The pieces in question — two Native American metal sculptures, created by the late local artist Bernie Rose — had been

Learn more »

Eagle’s Nest Preschool: Offering thanks to community

May 24, 2018 — Eagle’s Nest Preschool would like to send out our warmest thanks and appreciation to Al Shepherd, Jane Hume and the Lion’s Club for their caring attitudes, quick skills and wonderful generosity for giving each Eagle’s Nest Preschooler their eye exams recently. It is groups like

Learn more »

Tora Dunn: Sign up for 60th reunion

May 24, 2018 — The 60th class reunion for the class of 1958 will be held at the Clarion Inn & Suites in Craig July 14 and 15. We are hoping to have a large turnout of our classmates attend. We were the largest class to graduate from Moffat

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Making avocado dip

May 24, 2018 — What is a summer picnic without chips and dip? I've been to picnics where guests brought absolutely delicious dips — I'm not sure why I never asked for the recipes. Some were made with Velveeta cheese. I've experimented with avocado dip, using mashed avocados, chopped

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: Seeing the calves off

May 24, 2018 — We moved the cattle to summer pasture on Sunday, and for once, the animals went into the corral without a fuss, loaded up without much argument and went right through the gate when we got to the pasture. Compare that to this time last year,

Learn more »

Living Well: Learn not to burn; enjoy safe family fun in sun

May 22, 2018 — Summer is right around the corner, which means a lot of fun in the sun. What's the best way to protect your kids from sunburn? As you likely know, sunburns increase your risk for skin cancer. The chance of developing melanoma nearly doubles for light-skinned

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: Pursue excellence, not vengeance

May 22, 2018 — If you've ever had the opportunity to watch an amazing display of human accomplishment or been involved in one yourself, you know the majority achieve a momentary level of greatness by more of what you don't see than what is displayed. I've had the opportunity

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: ‘Nana in the City’ garners Caldecott Award

May 22, 2018 — This week's picture book for young readers received the Caldecott Honor, a prestigious award for illustration. "Nana in the City" was written and illustrated by Lauren Castillo. The book's illustrations were done in watercolor. The main characters, a young boy and Nana, were done in

Learn more »

Kathleen Shea: Reader wants artwork returned to Craig, Moffat County

May 20, 2018 — In the recent transfer of the Craig KOA to new owners, persons unknown drove up to the KOA with a pickup and asked, “Are you getting rid of these?” and drove away with two copper dancers that were made by local artist Bernie Rose. These

Learn more »

Rick Holford: Reader impressed by boy’s honesty

May 18, 2018 — Congratulations to Braxton Stewart. Now there is a young man who was brought up to respect other people’s property. We could all take a lesson from Braxton. You are one cool dude, Braxton. Rick Holford Craig

Learn more »

Editorial: Blazing a trail to recreational excellence in Moffat County

May 17, 2018 — The spring hiking and camping season is upon us, and we're gratified to see so many groups joining forces and working together to upgrade and enhance our outdoor recreational activities here in Moffat County. Perhaps most visibly, work began last week on a project to

Learn more »

Faith: Our words have power

May 17, 2018 — Words are everywhere. We read them, write them, hear them. We use them to praise and curse; reveal and conceal; create and destroy. They help us connect with each other and tear us apart. They express joy, happiness, love, hope, sorrow, grief, pain and desolation.

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Great sides for grilling

May 17, 2018 — My husband Lyle cleaned up the grill yesterday. It marks the beginning of the grilling season and that means checking out my recipes for delicious side dishes. Whenever I hear mention of grilling or picnics, I immediately think of potato salad — or perhaps pasta

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: The hatchet returns

May 17, 2018 — During the winter, we have to work around snow drifts and ice at the corral, often making it a challenge to put out hay. Another challenge is keeping track of livestock equipment, such as grain pans, mineral tubs and buckets. All too often, they get

Learn more »

Dave Wallace: Have a safe summer

May 17, 2018 — It is rather obvious spring has reached our little corner of the state. The berry bushes and apple trees are blooming with their whites and pinks, generously emitting a fragrance as pleasant as fine perfume. The streets and parks have become active with adults and

Learn more »

Ron Granger: CNCC taking comments seriously

May 15, 2018 — The administration at Colorado Northwestern Community College and I are taking comments from the focus groups seriously, and we look forward to continued conversations with the Craig community and the Moffat County Affiliated Junior College District Board of Control. I would also like to take

Learn more »