Opinion | CraigDailyPress.com

Opinion

Editorial: Consider the evidence

November 15, 2018 — It is not our general practice to respond to the comments readers make on articles published online by the Craig Press. We feel everyone is entitled to an opinion, so we offer our online comments section as an open forum for the expression of such

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: Remembering Thanksgiving

November 15, 2018 — When Thanksgiving rolls around, I can't help but remember my childhood, when the holiday was celebrated with a big dinner and lots of family. Thanksgiving was usually spent with the Osborn family, since our grandparents, Dad's parents, lived on Deer Creek, just over the hill

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Some Thanksgiving recipes

November 15, 2018 — I can't believe it's less than a week until Thanksgiving. These days, with my busy schedule, it's hard to get the time to do a lot of cooking, as my mother did years ago, but there are always the family favorites, like a salad with

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: ‘Holes in the Sky’ a moving picture book

November 15, 2018 — "Holes in the Sky" is Patricia Polacco's most recent picture book for children. Polacco has written more than 100 picture books based on her childhood. In fact, she is the "Trisha" in many of her stories, as is the case in this week's book. As

Learn more »

Living Well: Treating incontinence in women with urodynamics

November 13, 2018 — Unless you or someone you know has urinary incontinence, you've probably never heard of the term urodynamics. It's a common phrase used by urologists and gynecologists, alike. Urodynamics simply refers to a series of tests that assess how well a person's bladder and urethra are

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: It’s not right!

November 13, 2018 — Ever notice how much attention the things that just don't seem to be working correctly tend to get in the news and on social media? How come the good things aren't reported on as naturally as the negative stuff that circulates throughout the news cycles

Learn more »

Ed Wilkinson: Veterans service officer to stay

November 13, 2018 — I would like to thank all the veterans of Moffat County that rallied behind me during the period of time in negotiations with the county commissioners. The commissioners presented their side, and I presented mine. We found out some information that had been missing for

Learn more »

The Bock’s Office: ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ a regal rock biopic of one of music’s brightest stars

November 9, 2018 — If even after dozens of sessions listening to six minutes of confusing, esoteric lyrics, you still don’t fully comprehend how keywords like Scaramouche and bismillah are interconnected, the film of the same name as one of rock’s most endearing tunes won’t give you much more

Learn more »

Veterans: 100 years ago, 100 years from now

November 9, 2018 — Editor’s note: On this Veterans Day, U.S. veterans number more than 1 million, more than 800 of them in Moffat County. One-hundred years ago, the War to End All Wars ended. Soldiers sailed for home. Today, no living American possesses the memory of being one

Learn more »

Editorial: The fight’s not over

November 8, 2018 — The 2018 midterm election is now in the history books; after months of rancorous debate and campaign rhetoric, the candidates have either won or lost, and the issues have either been embraced or rejected. It's over. And that includes Moffat County Referred Measure 1A. We

Learn more »

Ruth Greenwood: Reader appreciative of YVEA

November 8, 2018 — Citizens of Craig and Moffat County: Please show your appreciation to Yampa Valley Electric Association for the remodel and opening of the Craig District office east of Craig. The board of directors heard and responded to our request for a local office to take our

Learn more »

Ann Anderson: Humane Society grateful for support

November 8, 2018 — The Humane Society of Moffat County would like to thank all the businesses and individuals who contributed to our bowling Fundraiser on Sept. 22. We would like to give special thanks to Bank of Colorado and Thunders Rolls Bowling Center. Thanks also to Don and

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: November reflections

November 8, 2018 — At this writing, it is just turning daylight. The early morning sky is covered with scattered clouds, some of which are tinted pink. It's a pretty morning. When I first got up, I turned on the front porch light for our granddaughter Megan, who would

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Quick sandwich recipes

November 8, 2018 — One night last week, when I was in a hurry to get supper, I decided to make Sloppy Joes. I usually make them using ground beef, pork and beans, and tomato sauce or ketchup, but this time, I decided to jazz up the recipe a

Learn more »

St. John the Baptist Greek Orthodox Church: To the Jewish community of Moffat County

November 6, 2018 — We stand with you in expressing our outrage, pain, and sorrow at the horrific attack against innocent people gathered together in worship at the “Tree of Life” Synagogue in Pittsburgh on Oct. 27. We condemn this anti-Semitic manifestation of pure evil, and we stand with

Learn more »

History in Focus: Sand Wash horses a living icon

November 6, 2018 — The wild horses of Sand Wash Basin are famous around the world. Each spring, aficionados watch closely for newborn foals and the right to bequeath them a name. Picasso, the most famous of the herd's wild mustangs, is available on Amazon as a Breyer Toy

Learn more »

Living Well: Sore throat — Is it strep or something else?

November 6, 2018 — It's that time of year when coughs, runny noses, fevers, and sore throats are rampant among the community. Many patients — children and adults — visiting our MRH clinics are concerned about sore throats and wonder if they may be caused by strep. There are

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: New novel set in Telluride

November 6, 2018 — This week's novel for adults is reminiscent of "old time" westerns, when range battles were fought over land, water rights, gold mining, and cattle rustling. "Telluride Top of the World" is set in the 1970s, when a modern-day range war rages over a historical ranch

Learn more »

Editorial: Yes, your vote matters

November 1, 2018 — As you read these words, the midterm election is only four days away, but for many of us, that's a moot point. According to a news release from Colorado Secretary of State Wayne Williams, 2,369 Moffat County residents had already cast ballots as of Thursday.

Learn more »

Gar Williams: Record supports Tipton’s commitment to veterans

November 1, 2018 — A political opponent of U.S. Rep. Scott Tipton recently aired an ad claiming the representative voted against veteran's benefits. Unfortunately this was a partial truth taken out of context. Politifact ruled this attack false back in 2014, when it was used against Republican candidates then.

Learn more »