Opinion | CraigDailyPress.com

Opinion

Memorial Regional Health: After illness or injury, home health care essential — To prevent complications after a hospital stay, MRH works to ensure patients taken care of at home

December 9, 2018 — Editor's note: The following article is sponsored content from Memorial Regional Health. Following a stay in the hospital for illness or injury, transitioning to the home can be a task that requires some extra help from trained professionals. Oftentimes, the transition from hospital to home

Learn more »

Editorial: A great first step

December 6, 2018 — Last week in this space, we editorialized about the vital role transparency and community involvement play in building and maintaining effective, responsive government, especially at the local level, and this week, we witnessed a sterling example. On Tuesday, the recently formed Joint Services Workgroup —

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: Memories of early December

December 6, 2018 — As I look through the dining room windows this morning, I'm thinking that what I'm seeing could be a scene on a Christmas card. Just across the fence, in Pipi's Pasture, the cows are eating hay which, only a short while ago, we spread out

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Making Christmas candy

December 6, 2018 — One thing we all enjoy about the Christmas season is Christmas candy. Because I don't have a lot of time, I enjoy making candies that don't require a candy thermometer. People who are successful at making candy tell me they wait for a clear, dry

Learn more »

Robin Schiffbauer: Community Kitchen in need of volunteers

December 6, 2018 — To the community: Thank you always for your support of St. Michael's Community Kitchen. We are in need of volunteers. If you have the time and heart to help, we would love to have you join us. We need drivers to deliver to the home

Learn more »

David Ulrich: December’s Moffat County School District snippets

December 6, 2018 — As we move into the Christmas holiday break, I thought it would be good to update the community on the district's progress on a couple of items. First, as a reminder, the last day for students is Friday, Dec. 21. Students return on Tuesday, Jan.

Learn more »

Clerk’s Corner: Longtime public servant bids fond farewell

December 5, 2018 — As a young child, I dreamed of becoming a history teacher or an FBI agent, but as every adult knows, life usually leads us to unexpected destinations. How lucky for me, my life path led me right to the county clerk's office! What began as

Learn more »

Becky Plummer: Resident seeks donations for veterans

December 5, 2018 — For the sixth year, I am collecting donations for the VA facilities in Colorado. The donations are needed now for the veterans in our Colorado facilities. I am collecting blank Christmas cards (packages), so they can send them to their loved ones at Christmas. Also

Learn more »

Michelle Perry: A win for our community

December 4, 2018 — Last week, we shared some big news for our community's future. Yampa Valley Electric Association announced its intention to build a fiber-to-the-premise broadband network, and the city of Craig and Moffat County announced the withdrawal of the Colorado Department of Local Affairs grant it was

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: ‘Interrupting Chicken’ sequel based on a pun

December 4, 2018 — "Creative, creative, creative" is the best way to describe this week's picture book for children. "Interrupting Chicken and the Elephant of Surprise" is a sequel to "Interrupting Chicken," a Caldecott-Honor Winning book, written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein. It is a new book, published

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: Dystopia abounds

December 4, 2018 — Dystopia abounds as winter begins and students are a little more settled in for reading some difficult texts. As we slog through Orwell's classic "1984," it becomes apparent that, in this particular society, the only way to make it out alive is to embrace Big

Learn more »

Stephen and Dee Dee Ghirardelli: Readers respond to note left on car

December 4, 2018 — We would like to take this opportunity to thank the nice person who left a sticky note on our car during our Loudy-Simpson dog walk today. The note said, "Dog poo decomposes Plastic Doesn't (sic)." We agree totally; that is why we use the provided

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Christmas cookies

November 29, 2018 — It's time to bake cookies and make candy. This week's column features three of my favorite cookie recipes. I've used them over and over, but sometimes, I have to add a little more flour to the dough. I think it may have to do with

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: It’s December when …

November 29, 2018 — Even if we didn't have a calendar, we could guess that December is just a day away, because of the happenings around us. You know it's December when … • the air has a "bite" to it. • the moon is a sight to behold

Learn more »

Editorial: We’re in this together

November 29, 2018 — Government transparency: It might seem the foregoing phrase is nothing more than a tired, old contradiction in terms that gets trotted out every couple of years as part of some campaign slogan or another, then packed back into the mothballs until the next election cycle

Learn more »

Joy Daigle: Resident grateful for community support

November 29, 2018 — I would like to thank all our customers of Wild West BBQ and Mom and Pops, and for giving us support at all these businesses. Pop died Aug. 13, 2018, and we will have a memorial service at 11 a.m. Dec. 1, 2018, at St.

Learn more »

American Legion and VFW: Veterans thankful to MCHS students, faculty

November 29, 2018 — To Moffat County High School students and faculty: On behalf of all the county veterans, we would like to thank you for honoring us with your Veterans Day program. And a special shout-out to Mr. Jim Neton. Your heartfelt music, songs, and presentations will be

Learn more »

Arloa Gerber: Reader frustrated with 1A outcome

November 29, 2018 — I don't write letters to the editor. I just grumble in the background. But, this situation warrants someone to speak up. My biggest frustration right now is with the voters of Moffat County on the mill levy issue. I agree that most people are fed

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: Research separates fact from opinion

November 27, 2018 — It's research time in many classes at our local high school. Research for senior students is the culmination of an extended unit on critical thinking skills that includes fallacies in reasoning, separating fact from opinion, and improper appeals to emotion. Assigned work includes speeches, essays,

Learn more »

Living Well: Safety in the sun: Protecting skin from sunburn important even in winter months

November 27, 2018 — Don't let the cooler temperatures fool you into believing that protecting your skin from sunburn isn't necessary. Follow these guidelines from skincancer.org to ensure your time in the sun is not only enjoyable, but also guilt-free and safe. When it comes to the sun, your

Learn more »