Opinion | CraigDailyPress.com

Opinion >

Opinion


From the Museum Archives: The deadly Meeker bank robbery of 1896
From the Museum Archives: The deadly Meeker bank robbery of 1896

June 25, 2019

In the middle of a Tuesday afternoon on October 13, 1896, three armed men entered the Bank of Meeker located in the Hugus Store on Main Street. Two warning shots were fired and the eight store patrons and employees were disarmed and corralled to the center of the room. An estimated $1,600 was then placed in a sack. Everything seemed to be going smoothly for the gunmen, but things were about to go south — as in six feet under, south.


Liane Davis-Kling: Good luck to national rodeo athletes
Liane Davis-Kling: Good luck to national rodeo athletes

June 25, 2019

As I was driving home from Hayden this morning, I was listening to Colorado Public Radio (CPR) and was happy to hear an interview that CPR did with Katie Jo Knez in regards to her recent win as the Colorado Junior Division Rodeo Goat-tying Champion.


David Lien: Let’s make lands more accessible
David Lien: Let’s make lands more accessible

June 25, 2019

For years hunters and anglers have been working to enhance public hunting and fishing access on Colorado’s state trust lands and more than 3,300 sportsmen have signed a Backcountry Hunters & Anglers petition asking our decision-makers to make more state lands accessible. Colorado remains the only Western state that excludes the public from accessing the majority of its state lands.


Larry, Sharon Pletcher: Identify yourself

June 21, 2019

Our friends and beloved neighbors, Joan and Melvin Snyder wrote a reasonable and polite letter to the Moffat County School Board and community June 19, 2019 expressing their deep concerns about the proposed Moffat County...


Over a Cup of Coffee: Using up the rhubarb
Over a Cup of Coffee: Using up the rhubarb

June 21, 2019

About a week ago I was rolling a bale of hay down past the loading dock of the corral so that I could throw hay over the fence. Right there in the path was some rhubarb. It isn’t that the rhubarb hadn’t been there before, but I thought it had died out during the drought. It isn’t easy to get water to that location. The rhubarb is nice and tender, and I’m determined to use it up before the stalks get tough. So I hunted up my rhubarb recipes.


Under the Dome: What should I worry about now?
Under the Dome: What should I worry about now?

June 21, 2019

Back from vacation and time to reengage. Time to sort out the issues, make a list, set some priorities, and go to work and worry. Or at least start to think seriously about a summer schedule and next year's legislative session, which will begin all too soon for me and the rest of the Joint Budget Committee in early November.



Across the Street: Adversity in diversity for the university
Across the Street: Adversity in diversity for the university

June 21, 2019

Just when we were focusing on the READ Act and its importance for success in life, we find that entrance into some colleges will include an evaluation of the applicant’s school and community environment. The College Board controversy has been widely discussed in news articles over the past month. In case you missed it here are some highlights.


From Pipi’s Pasture: Remembering bottle calves
From Pipi’s Pasture: Remembering bottle calves

June 20, 2019

Some years we finish up the calving season with one or two bottle calves here at Pipi’s Pasture; some years we don’t have any. The “not any” years are lucky years because feeding a bottle calf is an expensive business, and it means an extra chore, too.


Michael Smith: Yampa building a historic treasure
Michael Smith: Yampa building a historic treasure

June 20, 2019

I have followed with interest the discussion concerning the potential transfer of the Yampa Elementary School to Memorial Regional Health. Although there are many significant unanswered questions about what Memorial Regional Health plans to do with the Yampa Elementary School, the focus of my letter is on the Yampa Elementary School as a community asset.


Memorial Regional Health: Clearing up misconceptions
Memorial Regional Health: Clearing up misconceptions

June 19, 2019

We want to thank Melvin and Joan Snyder for their comments published on June 19, 2019 regarding the proposed Providence Recovery Solutions (PRS) initiative tentatively to be located at the 775 Yampa Ave. building. We also have received multiple inquiries from community members via social media and e-mail. The purpose of this communication is to address a few factually inaccurate comments and concerns circulating through various media outlets. We can only address such comments as they pertain to MRH.


Prather’s Pick: The joy of music
Prather’s Pick: The joy of music

June 19, 2019

This week’s picture book for children was written and illustrated by David Litchfield who lives in the United Kingdom. “The Bear, the Piano, the Dog, and the Fiddle” is a sequel to “The Bear and the Piano,” a best-selling picture book.


Lance Scranton: Winning starts at home
Lance Scranton: Winning starts at home

June 19, 2019

Summer is here and high school students are as busy! If you are reading this column and wondering why your high schooler doesn’t have something to do every day; you’ve come to the right place. If your child is of high school age and you are wondering why coaches have so much going on in the summer months, you’ve come to the right place.


From the Museum Archives: The last true mountain man
From the Museum Archives: The last true mountain man

June 19, 2019

Born in Illinois in 1818, Jim Baker was one of the most notable mountain men of the American West. He was also a participant in perhaps the fiercest battle that ever took place between native peoples and the mountain men of the Rockies.


Memorial Regional Health: CNCC claims are inaccurate
Memorial Regional Health: CNCC claims are inaccurate

June 18, 2019

On Friday, June 14, the Craig Press article “'Future of Craig’ meeting seeks change at Colorado Northwestern Community College” attributed statements made by CNCC Vice President of Student Services John Anderson that are factually inaccurate.


Melvin, Joan Snyder: School board suggestions
Melvin, Joan Snyder: School board suggestions

June 18, 2019

What a shock when we read the article in Wednesday’s newspaper about the School District “giving” 1.6 million dollar piece of property to MRH. And the fact it has been in negotiation for 2 years!...


Ernie Day: Greedy
Ernie Day: Greedy

June 18, 2019

Ashamed that our City has got so greedy to charge just to see the Whittle the Wood. Some of us don’t care about the band. Just want to see the carving and enjoy the food,...


John Pogline: Loopholes
John Pogline: Loopholes

June 14, 2019

A person can make all the excuses he can and find all sorts of loopholes, but if you make your living in marijuana sales, whether medicinal or recreational, or whether you own the business or...


Over a Cup of Coffee: Quick summer casseroles
Over a Cup of Coffee: Quick summer casseroles

June 14, 2019

When we’re not cooking something on the grill, it’s great to be able to whip up nutritious casseroles for summer dinners. This week’s column features two casserole recipes. I make “Skillet Beef–a-Roni” often. I don’t keep the ingredients for the other casserole on hand so don’t make it as often.