Opinion | CraigDailyPress.com

Opinion

Editorial: Protecting our most precious assets with revision to state’s ‘sexting’ laws

February 15, 2018 — There's a lot to like in CRS 18-7-109. Recently passed by the Colorado Legislature, the revision modifies state law to offer prosecutors greater latitude in dealing with juveniles who have run afoul of the state's "sexting" laws. The revised statute deals with the posting, possession

Learn more »

Janet Sheridan: The kindness of strangers

February 15, 2018 — Clutching a purse, corrected student papers and a sack filled with jars for a math lesson on liquid measurement, I inched across the school's frozen parking lot. Despite my caution, I slipped on a patch of ice hidden by a thin layer of snow, then

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Making chocolate banana pie

February 15, 2018 — A few weeks ago, Mary Burnett, of Craig, sent her recipe for chocolate pie, and readers could hardly wait to make the pie. Then, this week, I was looking through an old edition of a "1000 Recipe Cookbook," the seventh edition published by Dell Publishing

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: Packed schedule keeps Craig columnist hurrying around

February 15, 2018 — When I was driving to Craig today, trying to keep to a timed schedule, I was thinking about how I hurry through the days, always with feelings of urgency about the things I have to get done. For example, I hurry to finish my morning

Learn more »

From the Editor: Peter Rabbit and the art of being offended

February 13, 2018 — I'm not sure when, or even how, it happened, but to all appearances, we've morphed into a nation of folks just looking for something to be offended by. As I was browsing through my daily news sites this morning, I happened upon yet another example

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: Book teaches kids how to stay healthy

February 13, 2018 — This week's picture book for children is all about some loving animals who try to help a bear feel better. However, with this year's bad flu season, I think the book can be extended to teach children about germs and how to stay healthy. "Bear

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: Weather alert

February 13, 2018 — It looks as though we might be getting a little bit of winter back this week and, according to the experts, we may be in for some wetter than normal weather in April and May. I just love writing about the experts, because it gives

Learn more »

Paula Hendry: Taste of Chocolate huge success

February 13, 2018 — The Taste of Chocolate 2018 was a success. Everyone outdid themselves. The pottery was beautiful, and the soups were delicious. My personal favorite was the gumbo. The chocolate was over the top in variety and flavor. I don’t yet know what business won top place,

Learn more »

Ellen E. Brockett: Coroner candidate embodies true compassion

February 9, 2018 — This letter is about my friend, Jesse J. Arthurs, in reference to him running for Moffat County coroner. This position, I am afraid, is one that most people do not know the depths of or what it entails. If you vote in Moffat County, then

Learn more »

The Bock’s Office: ‘Winchester’ a misfire of a ghost story

February 9, 2018 — Most horror movies are bound to trigger some kind of emotional response, be it fear, excitement or anything else. In the case of "Winchester," that feeling would be boredom. In 1906, San Francisco doctor Eric Price (Jason Clarke) is in dire straits financially and in

Learn more »

Editorial: Gratitude meets disappointment after last week’s tanker rollover near Hayden

February 8, 2018 — Last Friday's tanker rollover just east of Hayden — which closed U.S. Highway 40 between Hayden and Steamboat Springs for about eight hours — left us tottering in the midst of a strange goulash of feelings. Foremost, we felt a renewed sense gratitude, first, that

Learn more »

History in Focus: Hans Wright: Killed by kamikaze

February 8, 2018 — Behind the jungle warfare and naval battles of the South Pacific was a vast web of logistics, supply lines, and humans keeping the fighting forces supplied and armed; 2,711 "Liberty" ships were pumped out of American factories and carried out this unheralded work. Aboard the

Learn more »

Local family conveys thanks

February 8, 2018 — The Perry family wishes to gratefully convey our sincere, heartfelt thanks for the kindness and support we have received from all of our friends, neighbors, coworkers and the wonderful people of our community following Kraig's accident. We also wish to thank the Tri-State EMT and

Learn more »

Family of Rob Syverston expresses gratitude for support

February 8, 2018 — The family of Rob Syverstson would like to express our sincere gratitude and thanks for all the outpouring of support and care at the time of our unexpected loss. Thanks to the first responders, EMS, fire department, the MRH emergency staff, Grant Mortuary, Pastor Leonard

Learn more »

From Pipi’s Pasture: Kitty has another calf

February 8, 2018 — Last March, after Kitty had her calf, I wrote a column about her. Kitty is our granddaughter Megan's first 4-H cow, and over the years, she has had plenty of calves, but her last year's calving was just plain humorous, mostly because she spent so

Learn more »

Over a Cup of Coffee: Craig’s Diane Prather serves up recipes for Valentine’s Day

February 8, 2018 — Wednesday is Valentine's Day. This year, I haven't yet taken time to bake cookies or make candy. In fact, I haven't even had time enough to send out Valentines. But I did take time to hunt up two recipes you might use for the holiday.

Learn more »

Lance Scranton: Nick Foles was the forgotten man turned Super Bowl MVP

February 6, 2018 — If things had turned out differently Sunday, and the New England Patriots had won in their all-too-familiar comeback style, the Super Bowl discussions would be very different this week. While Tom Brady and Bill Belichick are, not even arguably, the greatest coach-player tandem in the

Learn more »

Prather’s Pick: Danielle Steel’s new novel a page-turner

February 6, 2018 — It has been awhile since I've reviewed a novel by Danielle Steel. The last time I was in the library, I picked up "The Right Time," one of Steel's new novels (copyright 2017). It turns out this is one of my favorite novels by the

Learn more »

Michelle Balleck: Thankful for the opportunity to help Moffat County sustain and grow

February 5, 2018 — As we released the Craig/Moffat Economic Development Partnership 2017 Annual Report at the end of January, I was given a welcome occasion to reflect on last year's progress and our goals for 2018. I am thankful for the board members, clients and contributors who make

Learn more »

Janet Sheridan: Passing fancies

February 1, 2018 — Except for a brief flash during college, I've never been among the cool. In elementary school, I was the last girl to wear my hair in a ponytail and swoon when Bobby Burgess answered the Mouseketeer roll call. I attended Spanish Fork Junior High with

Learn more »