Moffat County football lands 13 on all-conference team, 6 on all-state team |

Moffat County football lands 13 on all-conference team, 6 on all-state team



Fresh off of a 2A Western League championship and a state playoff berth, the Moffat County Bulldogs’ football team was showered with praise on the all-conference and all-state rosters earlier this week.


In total, Moffat County had 13 total players selected to the all-conference roster – seven first-team players and six honorable mention award winners, including four seniors.

Senior Corey Scranton, senior Caleb Frink, senior Joe Campagna, senior Daniel Cruz, junior Logan Hafey, junior Taran Teeter, and sophomore Evan Atkin earned first-team honors for Moffat County.

Senior Chris Sanderson, senior Donnie Quick, senior Blake Juergens, junior Ryan Peck, junior Carson Miller, and junior Trace Frederickson earned honorable mention honors for the Bulldogs.

In addition to the all-conference honors, Frink earned first-team all-state honors for the Bulldogs, while Cruz and Scranton earned second-team all-state honors. Campagna, Hafey, and Teeter earned honorable mention accolades.

On the field, the Bulldogs recognized by the conference and the state more than earned the accolades.

Scranton recorded 26 tackles and four tackles for loss in his senior season playing under his father, Head Coach Lance Scranton. The youngest Scranton also added 1.5 sacks this season and returned a fumble for a score in the state playoffs against Resurrection Christian.

On the defensive side of the ball, Frink compiled a stat line of 26 total tackles and 1.0 tackles for loss. The senior also added two interceptions for 64 return yards. Offensively, Frink had 106 carries for 592 yards and six touchdowns on the ground. He added 11 receptions for 103 yards and three touchdowns through the air, and collected 52 kick return yards and 22 punt return yards.

Campagna led the team in total tackles with 39 total tackles. The senior added 4.5 tackles for loss on the year, adding one sack in the process.

Second on the team in total tackles was Teeter, who had 34 tackles and 2.5 tackles for loss for Moffat County. On offense, the third-year player had two carries for four yards.

Hafey led the team in tackles for loss with 6.0, and added 32 total tackles on the year. He will return in 2021 to lead Moffat County’s stout defense.

Senior Daniel Cruz had eight tackles this season defensively and was a key cog in a powerful offensive line for the Bulldogs.

Sophomore Evan Atkin, the youngest Bulldog on the all-conference team, had nine total tackles and 1.0 tackle for loss this past season. Atkin added one sack for 6 yards. On the offensive side of the ball, he had 243 yards on the ground and 330 yards through the air.

As honorable mentions, Sanderson led the way with 15 tackles on the year and paired with Scranton and Cruz as key linemen offensively.

Quick recorded nine tackles defensively, and thrived the receiving game, hauling in 16 receptions for 158 yards, and added 50 yards on kick returns and 59 yards on punt returns.

Juergens added eight tackles this year. However, most of his damage came much like Quick, in the receiving game, where he had four receptions for 16 yards and two touchdowns.

Peck led the team as the quarterback all season, throwing for 526 yards and six touchdowns, with six interceptions. On the ground he added 22 carries for 58 yards.

Carson Miller’s biggest impact to the Bulldogs came as a receiver with three receptions for 37 yards. The junior also added eight tackles and one interception in his junior season,

Fredrickson was one of only two juniors from the Bulldogs to make the honorable mention. He got that honor by collecting half a sack and 16 total tackles on the year.

The coaching staff even got involved in the awards with Head Coach Lance Scranton being named the 2A West Football Coach of the Year. Coach Scranton was joined by his son, Corey, in the awards group, as the senior won Lineman of the Year.

The team also succeeded in the classroom this past season with Miller, Juergens, Logan Hafey, Frink, Ethan Hafey, Peck, Tanner Zimmerman, Scranton and Teeter all being named to the Colorado Academic All State Team. Bryan Gonzalez was named to the Colorado Academic All State Honorable Mention.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Craig and Moffat County make the Craig Press’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.