Recent Stories | CraigDailyPress.com

Recent Stories - Opinion

Gus R. Halandras: Wolf reintroduction last thing we need
Gus R. Halandras: Wolf reintroduction last thing we need

May 22, 2019

I just read a survey on the internet sponsored by a group called “Lake Research Partners” and “New Bridge Strategy” that claim “that two-thirds of Colorado’s voters favor restoring wolves in Western Colorado." I am appalled that two-thirds of Colorado’s population is that irresponsible and emotionally ignorant of the true picture.



Editorial: Get those flags ready
Editorial: Get those flags ready

May 17, 2019

In Craig and Moffat County, we love America. We love its ideals of free market capitalism and self-sufficiency, of resilience, of sacrifice and compassion for the downtrodden.


Janet Sheridan: The importance of stories
Janet Sheridan: The importance of stories

May 17, 2019

Stories enrich our lives. We tell them, listen to them, read them, repeat them, write them, watch them on TV, enjoy them in theaters. Stories teach us, entertain us, make us laugh, ease our social situations, and cement our friendships.



Across the Street: My two bills worth
Across the Street: My two bills worth

May 17, 2019

Spring has arrived at last, and the legislative session has come to an end, not without a huge sigh of relief from many who work at the Capitol.



Over a Cup of Coffee: Chicken with rice
Over a Cup of Coffee: Chicken with rice

May 17, 2019

I’m so busy that I enjoy making dishes that have it all—meat, a “carb,” and veggies, all in one. The dishes are quick to make, are tasty, and since there are veggies in the dishes, my family members are more apt to eat them.


Prather’s Pick: A Max Einstein novel
Prather’s Pick: A Max Einstein novel

May 15, 2019

It’s been awhile since I have reviewed a novel intended for young adults, but then I found “Max Einstein: The Genius Experiment,” by James Patterson and Chris Grabenstein. The illustrations were done by Beverly Johnson.


Under the Dome: Thoughts after Senate sessions
Under the Dome: Thoughts after Senate sessions

May 15, 2019

Well, one of the most contentious sessions in the history of the Colorado Legislature has come to a close, not with a bang but almost a whimper and we were all headed home before midnight on the last day. I’m not sure whether to report on the bad, the good or the just plain ugly moments.


Lance Scranton: Sore feet is no excuse
Lance Scranton: Sore feet is no excuse

May 14, 2019

One of my students' favorite Friday Stories is about a young man who lost both legs when he was run over by a tractor-trailer at the tender age of 6 years old. His story progresses through his 11th year when he was the subject of a former teacher’s Friday Story about how, “I once complained about sore feet, until I met a man with no legs.”


History in Focus: Bridges over the troubled Yampa
History in Focus: Bridges over the troubled Yampa

May 10, 2019

After a winter of bountiful snowfall, the annual spring run-off is quickly turning the Yampa River into a muddy torrent. As reservoirs fill, relief from the drought looks promising, and the anticipation of a glorious summer of rafting, fishing, and tubing is on the horizon.


Over a Cup of Coffee: Cooking with rhubarb
Over a Cup of Coffee: Cooking with rhubarb

May 10, 2019

When it comes to pies it’s hard to beat rhubarb and strawberry. Rhubarb should be coming on in gardens soon. This week’s column features two recipes for using rhubarb, one of which is Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie.


From Pipi’s Pasture: One of life’s little moments
From Pipi’s Pasture: One of life’s little moments

May 10, 2019

This spring a robin has decided to nest in one of the tall poplar trees that grow in front of our house. The nest is hidden about halfway up in the tree where a big branch forks off from the trunk, leaving a little crook in between. The nest is so well-hidden that I would not have known it was there at all if I hadn’t caught sight of the mother robin one morning as she was busy doing something with the nest.


Editorial: Never again
Editorial: Never again

May 10, 2019

When Moffat County School District teacher Justin Folley was acquitted in December on 10 counts of felony exploitation of a child, it marked a real low point for the justice system in Moffat County and the State of Colorado.


Prather’s Pick: A book without words
Prather’s Pick: A book without words

May 8, 2019

It can’t be easy to author a book without words. The reader has to rely on visual clues—for example, the characters’ expressions and other forms of body language. “Found,” this week’s picture book, for ages 4 to 8, is a book without words.


From the Museum Archives: An unbelievable tale of a cursed family
From the Museum Archives: An unbelievable tale of a cursed family

May 7, 2019

Joe Ward first appeared in today’s Moffat County in 1884. In a region known for tough men, Joe Ward was instantly considered a tough man. He filed for a homestead about 20 miles southwest of Craig next to the newly constructed Government Bridge which is still located on Moffat County Road 17.


Lance Scranton: Dress codes and expectations
Lance Scranton: Dress codes and expectations

May 7, 2019

Not since the local water controversy has an issue stirred up as much discussion and debate. Seems as though anytime local leaders make a decision involving local public services; opinions start flowing as fast as the Yampa during spring runoff.



Kathy Shea: Thanks for a fun night
Kathy Shea: Thanks for a fun night

May 7, 2019

The Senior Social Center would like to thank all the volunteers, great cooks, fantastic helpers and tireless folks that just are there for us, for another fun and successful Game Night, our Tres de Mayo celebration on Friday night.