The Clerk’s Corner: Off-highway vehicle registration
September 6, 2017
Colorado has many beautiful and exciting areas to discover, and many magnificent views are right here in Moffat County! With nearly 2 million acres of public lands and more than 2,000 miles of city and county roads, our very own back yard is the perfect playground for adventures in the most unique and spectacular places.
Many cities and counties have now opened some or all of their roads and streets to off-highway vehicles, but before you head out please familiarize yourself with Colorado's registration and title requirements. Colorado State Law allows for the operation of OHVs with a valid Colorado OHV registration or permit. Operators ages 10 to 16 must be under the direct supervision of a licensed driver. However, if you want to operate an OHV within the City limits of Craig, you must be a licensed driver and at least eighteen years of age.
Off-highway vehicle registration is completed through the Colorado Parks and Wildlife or at the Craig Chamber of Commerce. Colorado residents are required to register their OHVs and must provide acceptable proof of ownership for boats, snowmobiles and off-highway vehicles. Ownership proof includes:
Bill of sale
Rules regulating the use of OHVs on public lands and roadways may be more restrictive than state laws and often vary from one city or county to the next.
Recommended Stories For You
Previous registration certificate from a government entity that lists the applicant as the registered owner
Manufacturers Certificate of Statement of Origin (MCO or MSO)
Certificate of Title
Titles are now required on off-highway vehicles and all power sports vehicle dealers and auctioneers must comply with title regulations. Titling an OHV is still optional for private party to private party sales. Documents needed to obtain a Colorado title are as follows:
Manufacturer Statement of Origin (MSO)
Certificate of Title, or
3. Current Colorado Parks and Wildlife Registration (registration card, or 60 day temporary registration)
If in a dealer's inventory prior to July 1, 2014, a statement of fact (Form DR 2444) for each OHV is required.
Dealer purchase or trades from an individual on or after July 1, 2014 require the individual to obtain title prior to selling an OHV to a dealer.
Taxes apply to the purchase of off-highway vehicles the same as any other motor vehicle transaction. Titles may be obtained at the local county motor vehicle office and the cost is $7.20.
All OHVs owned and operated in Colorado must display current Colorado OHV registration stickers when operated on designated OHV trails or routes in Colorado. If you are operating an OHV within the City of Craig an additional permit from the City is also required.
Rules regulating the use of OHVs on public lands and roadways may be more restrictive than state laws and often vary from one city or county to the next. Local governments designate OHV routes with signs and provide maps to the public, so be sure to check with the local city, county or BLM Office for specific rules regulating the use of OHVs in that area.
The Craig Chamber of Commerce and Moffat County Tourism Association web sites contain information on local ATV trails and other popular areas, which include the Sand Wash Basin, Brown's Park, Gates of Ladore, Cedar Mountain, Elkhead and Freeman Reservoirs, Irish Canyon, Black Mountain, the Dinosaur National Monument, and more!
Do you have questions or comments? Contact me, Lila Herod, at 970-824-9118 or send me an email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Until next month….Cheers!
Trending In: Opinion
- Moffat County couple suffers brain injuries after ranch accident
- Search called off for missing Front Range man believed to be in Steamboat Lake area
- Internet service failure disrupts communication for law enforcement, businesses in Moffat County
- Grand Junction man arrested on kidnapping charges in Mesa County
- Craig agencies respond to multiple-vehicle crash along Highway 13