Winning in Wyoming: Moffat County cross country top teams at Saratoga |

Winning in Wyoming: Moffat County cross country top teams at Saratoga

Moffat County High School cross country runners celebrate multiple wins during the Shana Ward Memorial Invitational in Saratoga, Wyoming,
Heidi Meats/Courtesy Photo

Moffat County High School cross country results from Shana Ward Memorial Invitational

Varsity Boys

Wyatt Mortenson — 17:36.77; 1Chris Carrouth — 18:00.11; 3Coltyn Terry — 18:45.64; 8Keaton Knez — 18:50.42; 9Theo Corrello — 19:23.77; 10Logan Hafey — 20:02.55; 23AJ Barber — 20:31.74; 30Boys JVKale Johnson — 19:33.64; 1Wilson Eike — 21:21.95; 12Carter Behrman — 23:07.83; 26Kadin Hume — 24:56.55; 31Chase Serio — 25:45.92; 32Girls VarsityMakenna Knez — 20:56.61; 2Halle Hamilton — 21:10.45; 3Kelsey McDiffett — 21:14.52; 4Liberty Hippely — 21:33.7; 7Emma Jones — 21:45.27; 8Lydia Berkoff — 22:12.39; 9Allison Villard — 22:41.36; 12Girls JVBree Meats — 22:53.52; 1Mackenzi Telford — 26:31.05; 12Fiona Connor — 28:05.05; 18— Both varsity teams won the meet, boys JV took fourth.

Craig Middle School cross country results from Shana Ward Memorial Invitational


Owen Gifford — 12:58.61; 5Noah Mortenson — 13:22.14; 11Boden Reidhead — 13:22.95; 12Ian Trevenen — 13:39.3; 16Grady Wooden — 13:59.77; 19Noah Beason — 14:21.58; 24Carson Laehr — 14:27.61; 27Forrest Siminoe — 15:15.02; 37Roark Browning — 15:19.39; 38Santiago Quezada — 15:26.36; 40Xabriel Robles — 15:33.11; 42Garrett Mercer — 17:00.64; 50Wyatt Tucker — 17:28.8; 54Travis LeFevre — 18:02.61; 56Zach Craig — 18:09.21; 57Mason Lorio — 21:22.74; 63GirlsMegan Neton — 14:49.42; 11Brook Wheeler — 16:27.33; 24Ariana Buchanan — 16:39.02; 27Mena Tucker — 16:45.86; 28Joslyn Bacon — 17:31.05; 33Alyssa LeWarne — 18:08.14; 39Sarah Johnson — 18:44.74; 40Kayden Grinolds — 18:53.36; 41Brooklynn Kroese — 18:54.39; 42Lilliana Williams — 19:40.55; 45Alexis Noland — 19:41.11; 46Hannah Kilpatrick — 19:42.7; 47Jazlin Quezada — 21:42.67; 52Nashaly Medina — 21:43.42; 53— CMS boys placed second, girls fifth.

When Moffat County High School cross country heads north, good things tend to happen.

For the second year in a row, MCHS distance runners won both the boys and girls top varsity team honors at Friday’s Shana Ward Memorial Invitational in Saratoga, Wyoming. As the defending varsity winners of the meet, Bulldogs ultimately outdid their 2017 results with individual wins for boys varsity and both boys and girls JV.

Hayden’s Wyatt Mortenson collected his second first-place finish of the season at 17:36.77, with Bulldog boys keeping their score at 31 with Chris Carrouth third, Coltyn Terry eighth, Keaton Knez ninth and Theo Corrello 10th.

MCHS girls also got all their points within the top 10. Though there was no catching Rawlins’ Sydney Thorvaldson — who won state cross country and track championships her freshman year and has yet to lose a 5K race in high school — Hayden’s Makenna Knez took the silver for the second year at 20:56.61, closely followed by Halle Hamilton and Kelsey McDiffett in third and fourth, Liberty Hippely seventh, Emma Jones eighth and Lydia Berkoff ninth.

The close finish was no accident.

“We really focused on packing our front runners up the first 2,000 meters of the race, ” said coach Todd Trapp.

Moffat County also had the first runners to cross the line in the junior varsity races, with wins by Bree Meats and Kale Johnson.

Craig Middle School boys took a second-place team finish, again led by Owen Gifford (5th), while after missing the Eagle Valley Invite the week before, Megan Neton took 11th as the top finisher for the fifth-place CMS girls.

While CMS will attend Tuesday’s Soroco meet in Oak Creek, both MCHS and CMS harriers will stay off the road while sticking to familiar paths in the following weekend at the Bulldog Invite Sept. 29 at Loudy-Simpson Park, with school races accompanying Friends of Moffat County Education’s Leaf Cruncher 5K and One-Mile Fun Run, which kicks the morning off at 8 a.m.


See more