Sea Sharks strong on 2nd day in Craig |

Sea Sharks strong on 2nd day in Craig

Nate Waggenspack
The Craig Sea Sharks won hundreds of ribbons for their high finishes Saturday and Sunday at the ABC Open in Craig. Micah Espinosa, Chris Kling, Molly Neton and Kelsey McDiffett also won trophies for being the high point-scorers in their age groups.
Nate Waggenspack

— The Craig Sea Sharks followed up a strong display Saturday with more good swimming Sunday.

During Day 2 of the ABC Open in Craig, local swimmers once again showed off their abilities in the pool, bettering their best times of the season as well as qualifying for end-of-the-summer championship meets.

Many of the younger Sea Sharks showed their versatility in the pool, swimming well in the more technically challenging strokes. Megan Neton (29.80 seconds), Caroline Schenck (30.53), Emma Tucker (35.44), Sequoia Condor Grihalva (35.96), Jasmin Kershiser (37.12) and Emma Fritz (48.72) all swam well enough to qualify for the Western Slope Championships in the girls 8-and-younger 25-meter backstroke.

Owen Gifford and Hudson Jones qualified for Seasonal State in the same event on the boys side, while Treyton Jacobson and Travis LeFevre swam WSC times.

Anna Cooper’s 1:02.95 and Emma Jones’ 1:49.41 were good enough for the WSC in the girls 9-to-10 100-meter breaststroke, an event in which many swimmers took disqualifications.

Joe Neal swam a 2:11.09 in the boys 9-to-10 100 backstroke, also a WSC qualifier. In the same event, Forrest Siminoe, Sabastian Hershiser and Matthew Cooper took the top three spots in the C division of the meet.

In the girls 15-and-older 100 breaststroke, Sea Sharks took seven of the top 10 spots, including a runner-up finish from Katelyn Olson in 1:18.73.

Nathan Cooper was excellent in the boys 11-to-12 division, qualifying for seasonal state in the 100- and 200-meter freestyles as well as the 50-meter breaststroke and backstroke.

In addition to the strong performances in individual races, several Sea Sharks were rewarded for scoring the most points in their respective divisions. Micah Espinosa, Chris Kling, Molly Neton and Kelsey McDiffett each won trophies for their efforts during the two days.

The Sea Sharks compete again next weekend at the Aspen Invitational Meet.

Contact Nate Waggenspack at 970-875-1795 or Follow him on Twitter at @CDP_Sports.


Michael Smith: Yampa building a historic treasure

June 20, 2019

I have followed with interest the discussion concerning the potential transfer of the Yampa Elementary School to Memorial Regional Health. Although there are many significant unanswered questions about what Memorial Regional Health plans to do with the Yampa Elementary School, the focus of my letter is on the Yampa Elementary School as a community asset.

See more