Residents take advantage of early voting |

Residents take advantage of early voting

Josh Nichols

As of Thursday afternoon, 700 Moffat County residents had already voted in the 2002 primary election through absentee and early voting.

Two years ago there was a total of 430 absentee and early voters, according to Chief Deputy of Moffat County Elections Lila Herod.

“I think the candidates this year have gotten out and really made an effort to get voters,” she said.

Ron Danner, vice chairperson for the Moffat County Republicans, said he agreed that candidates this year have been making an effort to get out and campaign, but also said many people might just be discovering the convenience of being able to vote early.

“It might be a few interesting races that have spurred that increase,” he said. “There has been a lot of effort put forth by local candidates. But early voting is certainly a convenience that many people might be beginning to use more.”

This year, the run for Moffat County Commission District 3 and the Moffat County Clerk and Recorder on the Republican ballot are the only contested races.

None of the seats on the Democratic ballot are opposed.

Jean Stetson and Kent Nielson are squaring off for the Republican Party nomination for the Moffat County commissioner’s seat that will be vacated by T. Wright Dickinson, who has served his maximum two terms in that office.

Elaine Sullivan is challenging incumbent Beverly Johnson for the Moffat County Clerk and Recorder seat.

While no Democrats are facing off on this year’s ballot, Moffat County Democratic Party Chairperson Tim Christensen encouraged local Democrats to still get out and vote.

“If Democrats get out and vote the numbers are encouraging to candidates as they prepare themselves to move forward in the general election,” he said.

Christensen said it is good that Democratic candidates aren’t opposed this year.

“Candidates tend to avoid a race in the primary if they can because it exhausts resources,” he said. “If we can choose our candidates through conventions and caucuses we’re better off.”

Representatives from both local parties said they would like to see the 2,118 total voter turnout from the 2000 primary topped this year.

“Get out and vote,” Danner said.

“Whatever party you are, remember it’s your American right to vote,” Christensen said.

The primary election runs from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 13.

There are 13 area voting precincts listed below.

For information on where a voter’s precinct is, he or she can call the Moffat County Courthouse at 824-9104.

If a voter moved before July 15 and has not yet filled out a change of registration form, he or she will have to do so, she said.

If they moved since July 15 they can still go to their old neighborhood precinct.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Craig and Moffat County make the Craig Press’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User