Pipi’s Pasture: Achievement Night 2013 | CraigDailyPress.com

Pipi’s Pasture: Achievement Night 2013

Diane Prather
From Pipi's Pasture

— On Nov. 13, 4-H members, their families and leaders looked back on the many accomplishments of the 2013 program year. The annual 4-H Achievement Night was held at the Moffat County Fairgrounds Pavilion. This week’s “From Pipi’s Pasture” salutes the 4-H members and leaders.

Special guests at the event were the Moffat County commissioners, members of the 4-H Foundation, Moffat County Fair Board members, buyers, supporters, donors and volunteers.

JD Sexton, Moffat County 4-H Youth Development/Agriculture Agent, welcomed everyone to the awards program, followed by the presentation of colors and pledges.

Presenters of awards and recognitions were Sexton, leaders, trophy donors and 4-H members. The first awards of the evening were given to Outstanding 4-H Leaders and Members. Jessie Grandbouche and Kacey Lyons were selected as 2013 Outstanding 4-H Leaders. They have been leaders in the horse program for three and five years. Chosen as Outstanding 4-H Members for 2013 were Mitchell Davidson and Alexi Goodnow. Mitchell also was recognized for his work as District 11 vice president and member of the State Officer Team.

Plaques were presented to two more leaders who have been involved in the 4-H program for many years. Marie Kettle has been with the program since 1982. She has served as leader for Knitting and Crocheting, Leather Craft and Heritage Arts. She has devoted many hours to the general project areas.

Lorrae Moon has been with the program since 1997. She has served as the organizational leader for the Elk Head Wranglers, has been a project leader for goat and horse, was the driver for the State to State Exchange Program and always works with the open projects during the county fair.

All of the 4-H leaders are recognized during Achievement Night, but pins are presented to first- and fifth-year leaders. During 2013, six new leaders donated their time to help 4-H members.

This past year, there were 55 first-year 4-H members. They all received pins that were attached to their completion certificates. In addition, 21 five-year members received pins. Pins were presented during the program to eight-, nine-, 10-, 11-, 12-, 13- and 14-year members. Ten-year members are: Allie Dilldine, Taylor Duzik, Darren McLaughlin and Brice White; 11 years: Dakota Lee, Faith Santistevan and Emily Wellman; 12 years: Jerica DeLong; 13 years: Call Camblin; and 14 years: Makayla Goodnow.

Junior Leaders help and mentor younger 4-H members. Receiving awards for successfully completing the year as a Junior Leader were: Hannah Coy, Mitchell Davidson, Taylor Duzik, Alexi Goodnow, Makayla Goodnow, Dakota Lee, Emily Wellman, Brice White and Tyler Gerber.

Members of the 4-H Council were recognized for service in 2013. They are: President Andrea Maneotis; Vice President Kaitlyan Reed; Secretary Alexi Goodnow; Treasurer Kaylee Springer; and Club Reps. Jerica DeLong, Brice White and Mitchell Davidson.

4-H Council Officers for 2014 were installed. They are: President Kaitlyan Reed; Vice President Alexi Goodnow; Secretary Kaylee Springer; Treasurer Brice White; and Club Reps. Jerica DeLong, Andrea Maneotis and Mitchell Davidson.

Outstanding General Project Awards, those projects earning Grand Champion and Reserve Champion ribbons at Completion Day, were recognized during Achievement Night. They are:

■ Natural Resources: Junior Champion Trevor Hume; Junior Reserve Champion Kimber Wheeler; Intermediate Champion Brittany Schulze; Intermediate Reserve Champion Brayden Tuttle; Senior Champion Cutter Polly; and Senior Reserve Champion Hunter Rummel.

■ Consumer Science: Junior Champion Kelsey McDiffett; Junior Reserve Champion Reina Steele; Intermediate Champion Molly Neton; Senior Champion Samantha Pearce; and Senior Reserve Champion Allie Dilldine.

■ Communication, Arts & Leisure Sciences: Junior Champion Logan Hafey; Junior Reserve Champion Cristiann Reyes; Intermediate Champion Hali Reyes; Intermediate Junior Champion James Brumblow; and Senior Champion Mitchell Davidson.

The Clothing Construction Award goes to the first-year clothing member who has excelled in the area of clothing construction. The award for 2013 was presented to Haley Boatman.

Awards for Champion Fashion Revue were presented to: Junior Division — Alexa Neton; Intermediate Division — Abigail Fritz; and Senior Division — Samantha Pearce.

Continued next week.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Craig and Moffat County make the Craig Press’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.