Pipi’s Pasture: 2013 4-H Achievement Night, part 2 | CraigDailyPress.com

Pipi’s Pasture: 2013 4-H Achievement Night, part 2

From Pipi's Pasture

— There were lots of awards and other recognitions during the 2013 Moffat County 4-H Achievement Night, held Nov. 13 at the Moffat County Fairgrounds Pavilion. In fact there were so many that this week’s “From Pipi’s Pasture” has more results to report.

Austin Luker was recognized for serving as Moffat County’s Shooting Sports Ambassador. Austin attended many statewide functions to promote the Colorado 4-H Shooting Sports Program during 2013.

The High Point Shooting Sports Awards were figured on project and shooting scores. The awards were presented to:

■ .22 — Senior Grand Champion: Dakota Lee; Senior Reserve Champion: Dylan Villa; Junior Grand Champion: Kaitlyn Ahlstrom; Junior Reserve Champion: Lane Tuck

■ Air Pistol — Senior Grand Champion: Dylan Villa; Senior Reserve Champion: Hunter Rummel

■ Air Rifle — Senior Grand Champion: Dylan Villa; Senior Reserve Champion: Dakota Lee; Junior Champion: Kaitlyn Ahlstrom

■ Archery — Senior Grand Champion: Cutter Polly; Senior Reserve Champion: Tiffany Schulze; Junior Grand Champion: Brittany Schulze; Junior Reserve Champion: Kimber Wheeler

■ Shotgun — Grand Champion Senior: Dylan Villa; Reserve Champion Senior: Colten Hinkemeyer; Grand Champion Junior: Trevor Hume; Reserve Champion Junior: Jesse Earle

The Outstanding Dog Exhibitor Award was based on points received for obedience, showmanship and record book scores. The award was presented to Mitchell Davidson.

The Outstanding Poultry Exhibitor was Hannah Coy. The award was based on showmanship, record book, participation and leader scores.

The Outstanding Rabbit Exhibitor also was based on a composite of scores. They came from attendance at meetings, extra 4-H activities, demonstrations, participation in shows and fair, record book, showmanship, fundraising and club officer. The recipient of the award was Hannah Coy.

Ripley Bellio was presented the Outstanding Horseman award. The award was based on points received from class placement, levels testing, attending the Livestock Expo and record book.

The Breeding Goat, Beef, and Sheep Awards were based on a composite of points that came from class placing, showmanship and record book. The awards presented were: Breeding Goat — Andrea Maneotis; Breeding Beef — Mackenzie Camblin; and Breeding Sheep — Andrea Maneotis.

Several Northwest Colorado Sheep Producers sponsor the Producer’s Choice Awards. The awards are presented to youths who are trying to replicate the sheep industry to the best of their ability. The following awards were presented: Top Rate-of-Gain — Layne Tupa and Brayden Tuttle and Top Carcass — Faith Santistevan.

The Homegrown Market Beef Award is presented each year by the Lyle Prather family to recognize the youth who has raised and shown a market steer from his or her own herd. Points are awarded for class placing, carcass and rate-of-gain. This year’s award went to Jenna Timmer.

The Gerber family sponsors an award to recognize the top Black Angus exhibitor. Points are given for showmanship, breeding class placing and record book. This year’s award went to Mackenzie Camblin.

Awards are presented for Supreme Market Beef, Lamb, Swine and Goat. The awards are presented based on points in class placing, rate-of-gain and carcass contest. The Supreme Market Beef was fifth in its class, first in rate-of-gain and ninth in the carcass contest. The award went to Rae Ely.

The Supreme Market Lamb was first in its class, fifth in rate-of-gain and third in the carcass contest.

The award was presented to Morgan Flanders. The Supreme Market Swine was third in its class, 12th in rate-of-gain, and first in the carcass contest. The award went to Jerica DeLong.

The Supreme Market Goat was third in its class, first in rate-of-gain and third in the carcass contest. The award was presented to Wyatt Bellio.

This past year, Moffat County 4-H had several members show an interest in livestock judging. They met for several months and attended a practice livestock judging contest. The following members were recognized for their efforts in livestock judging: Torin Gray, Carter Green, Toryn Hume, Trevor Hume, Aftyn Kawcak, Gage Kawcak and Pepper Rhyne.

During the program, Kayla Hall, Faith Santistevan, Jenna Timmer, Katie Bailey, Allison Villard and Aftyn Kawcak were recognized for 2013 Queen Program.

Club awards also were presented for Club Completion, Community Pride and Herdsman Award.

Awards presented for record books will be featured in another column.

Congratulations to all of the 4-H members and leaders!

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Craig and Moffat County make the Craig Press’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User