Petitions for Craig city council candidates available Dec. 31 |

Petitions for Craig city council candidates available Dec. 31

CRAIG — Residents will have the opportunity to vote for four new city council members in April, and for candidates, the path to the ballot box begins Dec. 31, when petitions will become available to all candidates.

Council members with terms expiring include:

• Mayor John Ponikvar, who serves on the Colorado Municipal League, Downtown Business Association, Yampa River System Legacy Project, and Yampa Valley Regional Airport Commission.

• Council member Joe Bird, who serves as a Chamber of Commerce liaison, Human Resources Council, and Planning and Zoning Commission.

• Mayor Pro Tem Derek Duran, who serves as liaison to the Colorado Northwestern Community College and Craig/Moffat Economic Development Partnership.

• Council member Jarrod Ogden, who serves on the Moffat County Airport Board and Parks and Recreation Board.

Any resident wishing to run for a seat may pick up nominating petitions in the city clerk’s office 91 days before municipal elections, which are set for April 2.

Completed petitions must be returned by Jan. 21 for a candidate’s name to appear on the ballot.

For more information about running for city council, contact City Clerk Liz White at or 970-826-2008.

Contact Sasha Nelson at 970-875-1794 or