Our View: Get out the vote | CraigDailyPress.com

Our View: Get out the vote

Editorial Board

Renee Campbell: Newspaper representative (absent)

Noelle Leavitt Riley: Newspaper representative

Sheli Steele: Newspaper representative

Christina Oxley: Community representative

Brenda Elsbree: Community representative (absent)

Each year, we have the patriotic opportunity to uphold one of our freedoms by voting for people, ballot measures and referendums.

This year, Craig and Moffat County residents have the option to vote for eight Moffat County school board candidates, five Colorado Northwestern Community Colorado board members, measures 1A and 2A to allow robust broadband options, and measure 5A that’s slated to add $275,000 to economic growth in our region.

No matter how you feel about the measures and the candidates running for office, we encourage all residents to vote.

We were given an amazing freedom to vote in annual elections, so please don’t miss the opportunity to cast your ballot this year. Every single vote counts.

Here’s a quick breakdown of what’s on this year’s ballot:

• Ballot measures 1A and 2A ask voters if the city and county should reestablish the legal ability to provide cable television services, telecommunication services and advanced services with public and private broadband providers. The measures basically override Senate Bill 05-152 that limits local municipalities from having control over their broadband services. It gives Craig and Moffat County the option to make its own rules surrounding broadband, rather than being handicapped by a law made in 2005 that monopolizes the industry.

• Ballot measure 5A allows our county to form a Local Marketing District that would add a 4 percent tax on room rates throughout Moffat County, giving our county an extra $275,000 to market and promote our area. The money can’t be used for capital projects, according to state law. A sunset clause in 5A allows the county to vote on it again in 10 years.

• Moffat County School Board of Education election has eight people vying for a seat — Darryl Steele, Amy Shaffer, JNL Linsacum and Neil Folks are all running for District 1. JoBeth Tupa and Travis Linsacum are vying for District 3; Jo Ann Baxter is running for District 5 and Charity Neal is running for District 7.

• Colorado Northwestern Community College has five candidates running for Moffat County Affiliated Junior College District Board of Control, including Tamilyn Fager, Dave DeRose, Zach Allen, Terry Carwile and Mike Anson.

Get out and rock the vote.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Craig and Moffat County make the Craig Press’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


Community health fund awards grants to 11 nonprofits

The Community Health Benefit Fund through the Yampa Valley Medical Center Foundation has awarded 15 grants for 2022 totaling $340,000, given to 11 nonprofit organizations in Routt and Moffat counties.CommunityHealthGrants-sbt-052022

See more