Official LMD Board up and running in Moffat County |

Official LMD Board up and running in Moffat County

Patrick Kelly
Victor Updike, left, Roger Richmond, David Heinrich, Dave DeRose, Kirstie McPherson, Dave Fleming and Tamilyn Fager conduct their first meeting as the newly appointed operating board for the Moffat County Local Marketing District on Tuesday.
Patrick Kelly

Members of the newly formed Moffat County Local Marketing District Board conducted their first meeting Tuesday evening.

The official seven-person operating board was selected by the three governmental entities comprising the LMD — Moffat County, city of Craig and town of Dinosaur — earlier this month and has the responsibility of running the tax district.

Both the city and county get three board spots, consisting of three, two and one-year terms. Dinosaur has one three-year slot.

Yampa Valley Bank President Dave Fleming will represent Moffat County for three years, former Masterworks Mechanical owner Dave DeRose for two and Kirstie McPherson, who works at Moffat County Workforce Center, for one year.

The city of Craig picked Southwestern Energy Land Manager Roger Richmond for a three-year spot, current owner of Masterworks Mechanical Victor Updike for two years and Bank of Colorado Branch President Tamilyn Fager for one year.

David Heinrich, a member of Dinosaur’s town council, is Dinosaur’s representative.

According to the LMD’s official bylaws, board members must be residents or property owners in Moffat County and view the entire county as one economic system.

After being handed the stage by the ex-officio board, the operating board proceeded to select Fleming as board president, McPherson as vice president and DeRose as secretary.

The board also determined it would meet at 6:30 p.m. on the first and third Tuesday of each month at Craig City Hall.

Moving forward, the board plans to reach out to different groups in the community and local government for input and direction.

Voters approved the taxing district in November 2016, by a vote of 1,678 in favor to 1,553 opposed, passing it by a 3.8 percent margin.

The LMD imposes a 4 percent lodging tax across Moffat County. The funds collected from the tax can be used for promoting tourism, supporting business recruitment, management and development and organizing public events.

To date, the LMD has collected $87,068 and is expected to bring in around $200,000 by the end of the year.

Before the meeting began, Moffat County Commissioner Frank Moe asked attendees to hold a moment of silence for Doyle O’Neil, who passed away in July.

O’Neil was an instrumental part in collecting the signatures needed to put the LMD to a vote, Moe said.

“He really did help us push over the top to get it on the ballot,” he said.

Contact Patrick Kelly at 970-875-1795 or Contact Patrick Kelly at 970-875-1795 or or follow him on Twitter @M_PKelly.Contact Patrick Kelly at 970-875-1795 or or follow him on Twitter @M_PKelly.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Craig and Moffat County make the Craig Press’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.



Community health fund awards grants to 11 nonprofits

The Community Health Benefit Fund through the Yampa Valley Medical Center Foundation has awarded 15 grants for 2022 totaling $340,000, given to 11 nonprofit organizations in Routt and Moffat counties.CommunityHealthGrants-sbt-052022

See more