Friday’s Moffat County High School agriculture event offers food, student projects |

Friday’s Moffat County High School agriculture event offers food, student projects

MCHS Future Farmers of America team to attend national competition

Craig Daily Press Staff Report

— The Moffat County High School agriculture program has had a lot happening lately.

The school’s Vocational Agriculture classes and the FFA will host a project auction and plant sale at 6:30 p.m. Friday in the agriculture shops at MCHS.

The event will include the chance to purchase items made of wood and metal prepared by students, as well as other items, while also enjoying a fry-up of the specialty food Rocky Mountain oysters, as well as hot dogs and hamburgers.

Admission is $5 for adults and $3 for children.

This year-end event follows on the heels of some exciting news for the MCHS FFA group, which competed at the state career development events at Colorado State University in Fort Collins earlier this month.

The meat carcass evaluation team qualified for the national contest in Louisville, Kentucky, later this year. The team, which attained a gold ranking, consists of Dylan Duzik, Jerica DeLong, Andrea Maneotis and Brady Springer.

DeLong, Maneotis and Springer each reached the gold level individually, with Maneotis receiving a $250 CSU scholarship and Springer, reaching second place overall, receiving a $500 scholarship.

Mattie Jo Duzik also received a $250 scholarship for her work in the horse evaluation category.

FFA members from MCHS also will attend the state convention from May 28 to 30 in Alamosa.

FFA state competition results:

• Forestry Team — Silver Team

• Envirothon Team — Bronze Team

• Floral Design Team — Silver Team

Erin Parrott — Gold Individual

Tiawna Smercina — Silver individual

• Horse Evaluation

Katia Voloshin — Silver Individual

Mattie Jo Duzik — Gold Individual ($250 Scholarship to CSU)

• Agriculture Mechanics — Gold Team

Dylan Duzik — Silver Individual

Tyler Jenkins — Gold Individual

Randy Sloan — Gold Individual

• Meat Carcass Evaluation — Gold Team, National Qualifier

Brayden Peterson — Silver Individual

Jerica DeLong — Gold Individual

Andrea Maneotis — Gold Individual

Brady Springer — Gold Individual