Easy choices in education elections | CraigDailyPress.com

Easy choices in education elections

No opposition for candidates at college and School District

Collin Smith

— Anyone thinking about submitting a petition to run for the Moffat County School District Board of Education or the Colorado Northwestern Community College Board of Control is days late and a 50-signature petition short.

The deadline for submitting petitions to the School District and the college was Aug. 31.

In both elections, the number of candidates equaled the number of open seats, meaning candidates will run unopposed and will automatically assume a petition on each board.

Robin Brumback, CNCC designated election official for the Moffat County Affiliated Junior College District, formally canceled the college Board of Control election, and declared the four candidates for the four open positions elected in a letter to the Moffat County Clerk and Recorder’s office dated Sept. 3.

Raymond Dubois, Trapper Mine president, and Karol Bullen, a retired School District teacher, were formally elected after being appointed to the board in 2005 to finish the terms for vacated seats.

James Loughran, retired head of the School District Athletic Department, and Earlene Sauer join them as first-time board members.

“I think we have a well-rounded board,” Brumback said. “It helps to get some new blood and have some people that have been there before.”

The CNCC Board of Control dictates what the college does with its mill money. It may spend money in five areas: tuition assistance, supplemental funding for current or future programs, erecting new buildings, capital funding for equipment – including technology – not provided by the state and facility operating expenses.

New Board of Control members assume office Nov. 19.

The School District Board of Education also had four candidates to fill four seats. Three current board members ran again for their districts, unopposed, and will sit for another four-year term.

Joining Jo Ann Baxter, Trish Snider and Andrea Camp is first-time board member, Tony St. John. St. John takes Steve Hafey’s place, who cannot run again because of term limits.

Board members are limited to two, four-year terms.

Hafey would like to run again if he could, he said.

“It’s been a good experience, and I think I’ve helped them a lot, and I think I could help some more,” Hafey said. “In the first term, you learn the business. The second term you know the business and can get to the business. By the time you know the business really well they don’t let you run anymore.”

The School District would have canceled its election, also, but it already is paying for a vote on its five-mill bond question. It doesn’t cost anything extra to have the board election on the ballots, as well, said Baxter, who is the current board president.

“I think it’s kind of a good thing because everyone can see who will be on the board,” she said.

New board members will swear in during the next board meeting after the election, which is generally the last Thursday before Thanksgiving, Baxter said. The board votes on new officers at that meeting.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Craig and Moffat County make the Craig Press’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User