D-Day vets honored | CraigDailyPress.com

D-Day vets honored

Tyler Baskfield

Some memories from a battle halfway around the world and more than 50 years ago were revived Tuesday and some service members finally received recognition they deserved.

The Medal of the Jubilee of Liberty medal, in commemoration of the Normandy Landings June 6, 1944, through August 31, 1944, was given to those who for decades had not been honored.

The Regional Council of Normandy had the Monnaie daris mint commemorative medals to pay tribute to the men and women who fought in Normandy to restore freedom. The Medal of the Jubilee of Liberty medals were presented to veterans who returned to Normandy for the 50th anniversary of the D-day landings and during various ceremonies this year in the United States.

The governor of Normandy authorized that the Medal of the Jubilee of Liberty medal be presented to any Normandy veteran who was unable to attend the 50th anniversary ceremonies in France. There were 17 veterans from Moffat County who received their medal at a ceremony in Glenwood Springs Tuesday.

U.S. Rep. Scott McInnis, R-Colo., and retired Col. Roger Hagerty were on hand to present the veterans with their medals.

Service members who received the medal include: Teddy Angelo, Clifton Barns, Jr., Charles Bradshaw, Lemuel Erwin, William Frye, Henry Goldsmith, Louis Lepinotes, Jesus Mascarenas, Wren McGruder, Lloyd Monger, Dean Paul, Raymond Peterson, Lloyd Richens, Albert Selk, Donald Shively, Francis Simpson and Eric Urban.