CNCC honors students at year-end banquet |

CNCC honors students at year-end banquet

Nate Waggenspack

Colorado Northwestern Community College's Craig campus officials, faculty and students gathered at the Holiday Inn in Craig last week to dish out end-of-school-year awards.

The honors banquet recognized the best and brightest taking classes at CNCC during the 2012-13 school year. CNCC Craig Vice President Gene Bilodeau presided over the evening and called it a success, with more than 150 people in attendance.

Jessica Gorley was given the Presidential Outback Award, one of the most prestigious honors of the night. It is given to the student "who has demonstrated outstanding progress and effort." Gorley also was named CNCC's Outstanding Scholar in Science and the outgoing secretary of the Student Senate.

Zoe Sowers was given the Rising Star Award, among a host of other honors. She was named the Outstanding Sophomore, Outstanding Scholar in the Arts and was a member of the Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society All-State Academic Team.

CNCC also named outstanding scholars in each of its five other academic programs and honored 16 students who have taken at least 30 credit hours and maintained a 4.0 GPA.

There were 42 students recognized by Who's Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges. That honor is given to students with a 3.0 GPA or higher in at least 30 credit hours who have also "shown high scholarship abilities, participation and leadership in extracurricular activities, citizenship, service and potential for future achievement."

Awards from CNCC honors banquet

Presidential Outback Award: Jessica Gorley

Rising Star Award: Zoe Sowers

Outstanding Concurrent Enrollment: Kali Smith

Outstanding Freshman: Zachary Emerson

Outstanding Sophomore: Zoe Sowers

Outstanding Scholar in Arts: Zoe Sowers

Outstanding Scholar in Science: Jessica Gorley

Outstanding Scholar in Automotive Technology: Jacob Baron

Outstanding Scholar in Business: Jessica Ross

Outstanding Scholar in Cosmetology: Stephanie Peterson

Outstanding Scholar in Massage Therapy: Miranda Leonhardt

Outstanding Scholar in Nursing: Darlene Gonzales

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society All-State Academic Team: Darlene Gonzales, Zoe Sowers

Nursing Scholarship recipients: Alicia Pride, Holly Gurr, Jessica Baker, Kim Hutcheson

Brett Steams Memorial Scholarship: Kim Hutcheson

4.0 GPA students: Matthew Balderston, Cole Carnahan, Mackenzie Carnahan, Sarah Copeland, Dawn Douglas, Darlene Gonzales, Rose Howe, Matthew Hulstine, Coreen McClellan, Christine Mixon, Brayden Moya, Jacqueline Murray, Jacob Quigley, Katherine Testa, Nastassija Voyich, Cherie Walker

Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges: Dana Armstrong, Ignacio Ayala, Jacob Baron, Bryan Birch, Valerie Boulger, Felicia Caddy, Shanyna Cole, Olivia Cordova, Keli Decuir, Dawn Douglas, Jennatha Doyle, Cristal Ferguson, Rachel Flores, Taanna Georgiou, Jennifer Germond, Darlene Gonzales, Emillia Hall, Justine Hathhorn, Joshua Hawkins, Joseph Hendershott, Theresa Kelliher, Bryanna Mcfadden, Tonya Mercer, Stephanie Niemeyer, Krystal Palmer, Melinda Pierce, Tony Reckker, Cari Robison, Dustin Rone, Megan Smith, Michelle Smith, Zoe Sowers, Sharon Spector, Lona Stanhope, Jamie Stanton, Glenda Summers, Karen Taylor, Katherine Testa, Clara Tomlin, Cynthia Vallem, Chanda Walker, Cherie Walker