Bear River Young Life tourney remains loud and proud as Craig’s most unique golf event |

Bear River Young Life tourney remains loud and proud as Craig’s most unique golf event

The annual Bear River Young Life Charity Golf Tournament is rarely a silent event, but with two megaphones blasting throughout the day, the noise was indicative of plenty of fun.

The yearly fundraiser for the youth ministry organization brought in more than $15,000 with 23 teams on the links Saturday at Yampa Valley Golf Course.

Multiple mini-competitions took place, such as closest to the pin, longest drive and a poker run, as well as a special feature this year: hecklers.

Michelle Perry and Desiree Moore, dressed in classic golfwear, made teeing off difficult with a pair of bullhorns and a long list of taunts.

“We try to keep it mostly PG,” Perry laughed.

Golfers wanting short-lived silence for their shot could pay the duo to turn off their megaphones.

Recommended Stories For You

The pair raised more than $200 alone for the final tally.

Past years have also seen the tourney offer drunk goggles — drunk driving — and pies in the face for additional unique fundraisers within the larger event.

Winning the scramble event in gross score was the foursome of Butch Behrman, Michael Clark, Dave Andujo, Jr., and Todd Ruckman with a score of 57. Duck Hook, consisting of Hugh Turner, Spencer Turner, Jordan Wilson and Grady Wilson won the net score at 47.

“I think it was the biggest and most successful tournament we’ve had,” said organizer Justin Kawcak.

Bear River Young Life Charity Golf Tournament results


Butch Behrman/Michael Clark/Dave Andujo, Jr./Todd Ruckman — 57

Dave Peterson/Izzy Gomez/Bob Markham/John Haddan — 58

Joe Padon/Derek Duran/Sandy Camilletti/Shane Camilletti — 59


Hugh Turner/Spencer Turner/Jordan Wilson/Grady Wilson — 47

Joel Thomas/Todd Skalberg/Travis Hareling/Tony Rice — 49

Billy Ivy/Keenan Bruchez/Marshall Kraker/Kit Bruchez — 51

Longest Drive

Men’s — Shane Camilletti

Women’s — Sandy Camilletti

Straightest Drive

Men’s — Ben Landa

Women’s — Margaret Culverwell

Closest to the Pin

Men’s — Tony Aragon

Women’s — Sandy Camilletti