Area doctors earn statewide honors |

Area doctors earn statewide honors

Lee Harstad

Two Craig physicians and their clinic have received top honors in the state.

Dr. Larry W. Kipe and Dr. Andre Jane Huffmire of Moffat Family Clinic were honored in early October for their completion of continuing education requirements to remain members of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), the national association of family doctors.

Both Kipe and Huffmire are family physicians.

The AAFP requires members to complete a minimum of 150 hours of accredited continuing medical study every three years. With 88,000 members, the AAFP is one of the largest medical speciality organizations in the country and was the first national medical group to require continuing medical education for members.

Family practice was recognized in 1969 as a medical specialty by the American Medical Association and the American Board of Medical Specialties.

Kipe has been an active member since 1984, Huffmire since 1981.

The Moffat Family Clinic and doctors were awarded by the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center for helping the continuing education of medical students, physician’s assistants and nurses. Kipe and Huffmire help train students for a productive future in the medical field.

Students at the clinic spend rotations varying in length from six weeks to three months.

“This is a common practice for medical students to meet the necessary curriculum,” said Moffat County Clinic Office Manager Tana Cook.