Agriculture & Livestock: Celebrating the 2011 4-H Year — Part 1 |

Agriculture & Livestock: Celebrating the 2011 4-H Year — Part 1

Diane Prather

Celebrating the achievements of the 2011 4-H year was the focus of the annual Moffat County 4-H Achievement Night, held the evening of November 4 at the Moffat County Fairgrounds Pavilion in Craig. In attendance were 4-H members, leaders, parents and special guests.

After the welcome, presentation of colors and pledges, 4-H agent Alisa Comstock introduced speaker Rich Wolter. Wolter, a motivational youth speaker, travels all over the world with his message that “Dreams don’t have to stay dreams.” He has spent the last decade mentoring, coaching, motivating and inspiring teens to reach for their dreams.

Presentation of awards and special recognitions followed the Rich Wolter program. Alisa Comstock presented the Outstanding 4-H Leader Award to Kandee Dilldine.

The award was selected by the Moffat County 4-H program. During her five years as a leader, Dilldine has put in countless hours with members in the cake decorating project.

Each year, members are selected as Outstanding 4-H Member(s). This year, the recipients were Will Pilgrim and Eli Dixon.

Each year Moffat County Fair Queens and Attendants are selected to represent and promote 4-H and FFA for that year.

Selection is based on application, oral presentation and interview scores. During the awards program, the following girls were recognized for the great job they did as queen royalty for 2011: Imelda Hernandez, Emily Wellman, Kaitlyan Reed and Samantha Pearce.

Queens and attendants for 2012 were announced: Intermediate queen is Katia Voloshin, intermediate attendants are Bailey Baker and Makenna Baker, and junior queen is Payton Voloshin.

This year, Moffat County has state and district officers. Recognized during the awards program were Will Pilgrim, District 11 president and state officer team member, and Makayla Goodnow, District 11 secretary.

The WOW! Award was presented by Comstock to four 4-H members: Seth Morgan, Derek Maiolo, Austin Luker and Will Pilgrim.

Outstanding General Project Awards, those general grand champion and reserve champion projects in each section at Completion Day, received awards. They were:

• Natural resources — junior champion: Mackenzie Marshall; junior reserve champion: Trevor Hume; intermediate champion: Mark Nava; intermediate reserve champion: Tristin Bailey; senior champion: Wyatt Oberwitte; senior reserve champion: Justin Willems.

• Consumer science — junior champion: Josie Timmer; junior reserve champion: Alexandrea Suessmeir; intermediate champion: Kyla Pogline; intermediate reserve champion: Mikayla Quinn; senior champion: Faith Jones; senior reserve champion: Emily Wellman.

• Communication, Arts & Leisure Sciences — junior champion: Chase Jeffcoat; junior reserve champion: Hali Reyes; intermediate champion: Mark Nava; intermediate reserve champion: Kaylee Springer.

The following awards were presented to members who have excelled in the area of fashion and clothing construction:

• Fashion revue: Lexi Mae Weber, Teigen Martin, Mikayla Quinn, Abigail Fritz and Kyla Pogline.

• Grand champion junior division fashion revue: Lexi Mae Weber.

• Grand champion intermediate division fashion revue: Teigen Martin.

• Reserve champion junior division fashion revue: Abigail Fritz.

• Reserve champion intermediate division fashion revue: Mikayla Quinn.

• Grand champion clothing construction: Kyla Pogline.

• Reserve champion clothing construction: Lexi Mae Weber.

Natasha Sloan and Austin Luker represented Moffat County as Shooting Sports Ambassadors. They were recognized during the awards presentation for attending many statewide functions in 2011 in order to promote the Colorado 4-H Shooting Sports program.

High Point Shooting Sports Awards, project and shooting score, were presented to the following 4-H members:

• .22 — senior grand champion: Curtis Tuck; senior reserve champion: Miranda Blomquist; junior grand champion: Kearn Gerber; junior reserve champion: Hunter Rummel.

• Air pistol — senior grand champion: Dylan Villa; senior reserve champion: Miranda Blomquist; junior champion: Hunter Rummel.

• Archery — senior grand champion: Justin Willems; senior reserve champion: Tiffany Schultz; junior grand champion: Mackenzie Marshall; junior reserve champion: Cutter Polly.

• Shotgun — senior grand champion: Wyatt Oberwitte; senior reserve champion: Dylan Villa; junior grand champion: Tanner Snyder; junior reserve champion: Tristin Bailey.

Moffat County 4-H Council officers, club representatives and leader advisors were recognized for their hard work and dedication in 2011. They are: President: Emily Wellman; vice president: Makayla Goodnow; secretary: Taylor Duzik; treasurer: Emma Balstad; senators: Makayla Goodnow and Taylor Duzik; club representatives: Kaylee Springer and Mattie Jo Duzik; and leader advisors: John Wellman and Dave Summers.

More 2011 4-H Achievement Night awards and recognitions will be published next week.

Click here to have the print version of the Craig Daily Press delivered to your home.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Craig and Moffat County make the Craig Press’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User