Agriculture & Livestock: Celebrating 2011 4-H Year — Part 3 |

Agriculture & Livestock: Celebrating 2011 4-H Year — Part 3

Diane Prather
Diane Prather

Moffat County 4-H members excelled in project work during 2011, and over three weeks the Agriculture & Livestock pages of the Craig Daily Press have featured stories about their achievements that were recognized during the annual 4-H Achievement Night on Nov. 4.

The following 4-H members went that extra step to understand and demonstrate the importance of good record-keeping during their project journeys. The Best-Kept Livestock and Horse Records were presented to:

One Enterprise — junior: first place: Josie Timmer, second place: Jared Baker, third place: Joel Ross, fourth place: Tiffany Hildebrandt, and fifth place: Brayden Tuttle.

One Enterprise — intermediate: first place: Sarye Morgan, second place: Sadye Morgan, third place: Keenan Hildebrandt, fourth place: Bryce Tuttle, and fifth place: Brittany Swindler.

Support Local Journalism

One Enterprise — senior: first place: Chelsee Camblin, second place: Amanda Ellgen, third place: Seth Morgan, fourth place: Tori Snyder, and fifth place: Shaye Zimmerman.

Overall One Enterprise (age not a factor): first place: Josie Timmer, second place: Sarye Morgan, third place: Sadye Morgan, fourth place: Keenan Hildebrandt, and fifth place: Jared Baker.

Two Enterprise — junior: first place: Payton Voloshin, and second place: Jenna Timmer.

Two Enterprise — intermediate: first place: Alexi Goodnow, second place: Mattie Jo Duzik, third place: Kaitlyan Reed, fourth place: Gabe Dixon, and fifth place: Katia Voloshin.

Two Enterprise — senior: first place: Emily Wellman, second place: Taylor Duzik, third place: Eli Dixon, fourth place: Shannon Tochtrop, and fifth place: Hannah Coy.

Overall Two Enterprise (age not a factor): first place: Alexi Goodnow, second place: Emily Wellman, third place: Payton Voloshin, fourth place: Mattie Jo Duzik, and fifth place: Kaitlyan Reed.

Three Enterprise — junior: first place: Katie Haskins, second place: Ty Pinnt, third place: Grady Anson, fourth place: Kelton Villard, and fifth place: Courtney Haskins.

Three Enterprise — intermediate: first place: Emma Balstad.

Three Enterprise — senior: first place: Makayla Goodnow, second place: Will Pilgrim, third place: Breanne Willshire, fourth place: Faith Santistevan, and fifth place: Brice White.

Four Enterprise — senior: first place: Karissa Maneotis, and second place: Jerica DeLong.

Six Enterprise — intermediate: first place: Andrea Maneotis.

Overall Three, Four and Six Enterprise (age not a factor): first place: Makayla Goodnow, second place: Andrea Maneotis, third place: Karissa Maneotis, fourth place: Will Pilgrim, and fifth place: Breanne Willshire.

During the awards program, Junior Leaders were recognized for dedicating their time to learning and developing leadership skills and for helping and mentoring younger members in many project areas. The following Junior Leaders received pins: Brice White, Emily Wellman, Makayla Goodnow, Faith Santistevan, Will Pilgrim, Alexi Goodnow, Imelda Hernandez and Kayla Hall.

Membership pins were presented to 49 first-year members who had completed projects this past year. The membership pins were attached to completion certificates in individual envelopes. Pins were also presented to five-, eight-, nine-, 10-, 11-, 12-, and 13-year members. Krista Shaffer has completed 13 years in 4-H work.

Leaders in 4-H project work were also recognized. This past year, 12 first-year leaders gave time and effort to help 4-H members. Five leaders were recognized for five years of volunteer work. Recognition was given to Glenda Bellio for 10 years as a leader and to Marie Kettle for a whopping 30 years as a 4-H leader!

Club awards were given in three categories: community pride (for completing community service projects in 2011); club completion (for clubs with 100 percent completion and for clubs with at least 75 percent completion); and the Herdsman Award (presented by the Moffat County 4-H Foundation). Twenty-eight Moffat County 4-H clubs received awards in the above categories.

The Herdsman Award is given to clubs for beef, sheep/goats, hogs and small animals with an overall top club/chapter award given. The overall club/chapter name is added to the traveling trophy plaque, which is on display at the Extension Office. The award is based on keeping pens and alleyways clean, keeping their animals fed and watered, sportsmanship and cooperation, club or chapter display, personal appearance and attitude of club or chapter members, and participation in showmanship.

The Herdsman Awards for 2011 were presented to: Elkhead Wranglers (overall top club/chapter Herdsman Award); Hamilton Busy Beavers (Herdsman Award in sheep and goat division); Maybell Rustlers (Herdsman Award in the beef division); and Rabbit Rustlers (Herdsman Award in the small animal division).

Congratulations go to the Moffat County 4-H members for their dedication and hard work during 2011. It is time to enroll in 4-H for 2012.

If you’d like more information, call the Extension Office at 824-9180.

Click here to have the print version of the Craig Daily Press delivered to your home.

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Craig and Moffat County make the Craig Press’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User