Agriculture & Livestock: 4-H Achievement Night, 2012 |

Agriculture & Livestock: 4-H Achievement Night, 2012

Diane Prather

Moffat County’s annual 4-H Achievement Night was Nov. 14 at the Fairgrounds Pavilion in Craig.

Special guests, families, and 4-H members gathered to celebrate the many accomplishments that 4-Hers had during the 2012 year. “What’s Your H?”, the State 4-H promotional slogan for the coming year, was featured on the cover of the Achievement Night programs. (The slogan refers to the “H” words in the 4-H pledge.)

The evening’s events began with a Welcome, Presentation of Colors, and Pledges, led by 4-H Agent JD Sexton. It was followed by the introduction of guests, including the Moffat County Commissioners, Moffat County 4-H Foundation, Moffat County Fair Board, several buyers, supporters, donors, and volunteer leaders.

The first award of the evening, presented by Sexton, recognized the Outstanding 4-H Leaders for 2012. Each year the recipient(s) of the award are selected by the Moffat County 4-H program. Shawn Polly and Sarah Polly, this year’s recipients, have spent countless hours with project members in the Archery program. They have been leaders for six years.

Each year the Moffat County 4-H program also selects one or two members as Outstanding 4-H Members. This year the award was presented to two 4-H members, Hannah Coy and Brice White.

Sexton also presented Moffat County’s State and District Officers for recognition. Will Pilgrim is the State Officer Vice President and Derek Maiolo is District 11 Vice President.

The 2012 Moffat County 4-H Council Officers , Club Representatives, and Leader Advisors were also recognized. They are: President-Makayla Goodnow; Vice-President-Kaitlyan Reed; Secretary-Alexi Goodnow; Treasurer- Kaylee Springer; Club Representatives- Andrea Maneotis and Emily Wellman; and Leader Advisors- John Wellman, Dave Summers, and Karen Maneotis.

Next, Installation of 2013 4-H Council Officers was held. They are: President-Andrea Maneotis; Vice-President- Kaitlyan Reed; Secretary-Alexi Goodnow; Treasurer- Kaylee Springer; and Club Representatives- Jerica DeLong, Brice White, and Mitchell Davidson.

Paula Duzik was responsible for member, leader, and Junior Leader recognition during the evening’s program. There were 49 first-year members and 23 five-year members who completed their projects in 2012. Their pins were attached to the completion certificates that they received in individual member envelopes following the program.


See more