A night 4 achievement | CraigDailyPress.com

A night 4 achievement

4-H members, family celebrate accomplishments

Diane Prather

— The evening of Nov. 16, 4-H members, their families and friends gathered at the Moffat County Fairgrounds Pavilion to celebrate the annual 4-H Achievement Night.

The pavilion was decorated with green and white streamers and 4-H balloons. The tables were set with brightly colored place mats. All was ready for the evening’s festivities.

Lyndi Wellman, 2007 4-H Council president started the evening’s program by giving the welcome and introductions. It was followed by the presentation of the colors and pledges.

Tom Gray gave the invocation.

Then, after everyone had enjoyed a delicious potluck dinner, the program resumed with a variety of awards, announcement of fair royalty and installation of 2008 4-H Council officers.

Jody and Red Lee were recognized as Outstanding 4-H Leaders for 2007. The Lees have been leaders for a combined 20 years and have put in countless hours with project members at the county, state and national level.

The Outstanding 4-H Member Award, selected by the 4-H Council Advisors and Extension staff, was awarded to Lyndi Wellman.

Lyndi has been an active member of the 4-H Council and in other activities such as fourth-grade Ag-Day, District Retreat, County Fair and the Leadership Development Conference.

In 2007, there were 58 first-year members. They received certificates and pins. Also receiving pins were 17 five-year members, 13 eight-year members, and four nine-year members. Rachel Longwell and Kaycee Stagner were recognized for eleven years of membership and Eric and Lyndi Wellman for twelve years.

There were 22 first-year leaders in 2007. They were congratulated during the Leader Recognition part of the program. Nick Maneotis, Marilyn Rieser and Vickie Runnion have been leaders for five years, Robert Aaberg for ten years and Andre Huffmire has served as a 4-H leader for 15 years.

More than 62 individual awards were given for livestock, horse and dog record books, and 14 awards were presented for shooting sports. In addition, awards were given for county fair champions and reserve champions in general projects, fashion revue and photography.

Some of the other individual awards presented included: supreme market beef, Tabitha Snare; supreme market swine, Tiarra Schroeder; supreme market lamb, Kassie Davis; supreme market goat, Austin Lee; Ivan Kawcak breeder of beef award, Cody Coupe; Prather Family Homegrown Steer Award, Brad Summers; Moffat County Cowbelles Breeders Herd Award, Mackenzie Camblin; and Gerber Family Outstanding Angus Exhibitor, Justin Stephenson

The Moffat County Fair Royalty selection is made by a Judging Selection Committee and is based on application, oral presentation and interview. The 2008 Royalty are: Senior queen, Lyndi Wellman; senior attendant, April Etheridge; intermediate queen, Natosha Langstaff; intermediate attendant, Samantha Fox, junior queen, Mattie Jo Duzik; and junior attendant, Brooke Krause.

Installation of 2008 4-H Council Officers was held. The officers are: president, Karissa Maneotis; vice-president, Makayla Goodnow; secretary/treasurer, Emily Wellman; fair board representative, Cheyenne Ossen and alternate, Lyndi Wellman;

senator, Karissa Maneotis; and club representatives, Alexi Goodnow and Will Shepherd. Leader advisors are: John Wellman, Dave Summers and Jackie Goodnow.

Following the program, the members enjoyed a dance.

Alisa Comstock, 4-H and Youth Development Agent said, “It was great to recognize and celebrate the 4-Hers’ hard work.” She reminded everyone that it’s time to sign up for the 2008 4-H year. To do that, go to the Extension Office.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Craig and Moffat County make the Craig Press’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User