Back

Weather Alert Detail

  • Wind Advisory for Grant County, Kansas
  • Wind Advisory issued April 13 at 7:04PM CDT until April 14 at 9:00AM CDT by NWS
  • Effective: Sunday, April 13, 2014 at 6:04 p.m.
  • Expires: Monday, April 14, 2014 at 8 a.m.
  • ...STRONG NORTH WINDS THIS EVENING WITH FREEZING TEMPERATURES
    TONIGHT AND TOMORROW NIGHT...
    .STRONG NORTHERLY WINDS WILL CONTINUE THIS EVENING AS A COLD
    FRONT MOVES SOUTHEAST ACROSS SOUTH CENTRAL KANSAS INTO OKLAHOMA.
    SUSTAINED WINDS OF 25 TO 35 MPH WITH GUSTS UP TO 40 MPH ARE
    EXPECTED. TEMPERATURES WILL THEN FALL TO BELOW FREEZING TONIGHT
    WITH MOST AREAS FALLING TO OR BELOW 28 DEGREES. THE COLD WEATHER
    IS EXPECTED TO CONTINUE TOMORROW NIGHT WITH LOWS BELOW FREEZING.
    ...WIND ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 9 PM CDT /8 PM MDT/ THIS
    EVENING...
    ...HARD FREEZE WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 1 AM CDT /MIDNIGHT
    MDT/ TO 9 AM CDT /8 AM MDT/ MONDAY...
    ...HARD FREEZE WATCH REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM LATE MONDAY NIGHT
    THROUGH TUESDAY MORNING...
    * TIMING...TONIGHT THROUGH TOMORROW NIGHT.
    * WINDS...SUSTAINED NORTH WINDS OF 25 TO 35 MPH WITH GUSTS UP TO 40 MPH.
    * TEMPERATURE...AT OR BELOW 28 DEGREES TONIGHT AND BELOW 32
    DEGREES TOMORROW NIGHT.
    * IMPACTS...THE STRONG WINDS WILL MAKE TRAVEL DIFFICULT
    ESPECIALLY FOR THOSE IN HIGH PROFILE VEHICLES. LIGHTWEIGHT
    ITEMS SUCH AS TRASH CARTS AND LAWN FURNITURE WILL EASILY BE
    BLOWN AROUND. ALSO...SUB FREEZING TEMPERATURES COULD KILL
    CROPS AND OTHER SENSITIVE VEGETATION.