Women’s 2002 national touring hockey team announced | CraigDailyPress.com

Women’s 2002 national touring hockey team announced

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (AP) Fourteen members of the U.S. women’s hockey team that won Olympic gold in 1998 are part of a 25-woman touring team that will play in preparation for the 2002 Sale Lake City Olympics.

The team will compete in a 39-game tour. Five players will be cut to form the team that will represent the country in the 2002 Olympics.

The team was selected following a festival in Lake Placid, N.Y., where 45 of the nation’s best players showed up.

The 14 returning players are Sara DeCosta, Warwick, R.I.; Sarah Tueting, Winnetka, Ill.; Chris Bailey, Marietta, N.Y.; Karyn Bye, River Falls, Wis.; Sue Merz, Greenwich, Conn; A.J. Mleczko, Nantucket, Mass.; Tara Mounsey, Concord, N.H.; Angela Ruggiero, Simi Valley, Calif.; Laurie Baker, Concord, Mass.; Tricia Dunn, Derry, N.H.; Cammi Granato, Downers Grove, Ill.; Katie King, Salem, N.H.; Shelley Looney, Brownstown Township, Mich; and Jenny Potter, Eagan, Minn.

Six other players have previously been on U.S. National teams. They are: Julie Chu, Fairfield, Conn.; Natalie Darwitz, Eagan, Minn.; Brandy Fisher, Colton, N.Y.; Annamarie Holmes, Apple Valley, Minn.; Krissy Wendell, Brooklyn Park, Minn.; and Carisa Zaban, Glenview, Ill.

The remaining five skaters are Courtney Kennedy, Woburn, Mass.; Nicole Uliasz, Perkasie, Pa.; Lyndsay Wall, Churchville, N.Y.; Kathleen Kauth, Saratoga Springs, N.Y.; and Andrea Kilbourne, Saranac Lake, N.Y.

Recommended Stories For You

Go back to article