My Life My Words: Renata Beason — Enjoying the many freedoms |

My Life My Words: Renata Beason — Enjoying the many freedoms

"I came here from Gdansk, Poland in 1991. I wanted something more successful and I just wanted to see if I could do that if I left there. I lived in Steamboat (Springs) for a little bit. I came to Craig in 1999 when I met my husband on a blind date at Village Inn. My friend is the one who set us up.

"We just had a ceremony in the courthouse in 2000, and we are happily married. We have a family of five kids. I have a stepdaughter who is the oldest at 20 years old. I have my son who is 14, and then I have a 10 year old, 8 year old and 3 year old.

"I do embroidering. I love quilting, which my mother-in-law taught me how to do. In my store, I do resale, alterations, special alterations and we just started to do digital printing, which is a pretty new thing. This was an existing business, and when I bought it, I put a lot of improvement into it. Part of that included getting a bigger stock than they had before. It was just something I had a passion to do, and I think you have to have a passion for it. I run this store by myself, so it helps.

"I actually get some orders that are from outside the surrounding area. I had some orders that were actually shipped to China and some that shipped to Peru. I still have relatives in Poland, so I get to ship some orders out there. I get orders from Canada and all over the United States as well.

"I treat each customer individually. I have lots of steady customers that come in here on a regular basis year after year. Thankfully, they refer me to other friends and relatives, and that really is the best way to get the word out there for my business."

"I get some sports orders, mostly baseball. I have received orders from Moffat County, Hayden and Meeker. When it's prom season, I start getting orders from girls for their prom dresses, and also homecoming when that comes around. I try to expand each year on what I can do in my store.

Recommended Stories For You

"I am happy where I am at right now. But, as the years come and I move forward, I may chain up eventually. Right now, though, I am happy in my spot. If the kids want to take over, they may take it to more places and chain up, but I'd rather keep my special treatment here in Craig.

"When I get some time off, I usually just sit on the couch at home and do some more quilting. I really like to watch soap operas if I can get a chance. I really do enjoy my time off when I get it.

"I have traveled a little since I've been here. I've traveled to California and I've been to New York. I've also been to the all the surrounding states of Colorado. But, I really like Colorado. I grew up by the sea on the beach in Poland. I lived there for 19 years, and it was completely different where I grew up than it is here.

"I moved to the United States when I was 19 years old, and I'm not going back (to Poland). I just can't picture myself as successful as I have been here. The economy and how much freedom we have, I don't think people realize how much good we actually have here."

Go back to article