MCHS basketball players receive Western Slope League honors |

MCHS basketball players receive Western Slope League honors

Joshua Gordon

Back row, from left, Annie Sadvar, Melissa Camilletti, Sassy Murray, Maddy Jourgensen and Lauren Roberts pose in the Moffat County High School gymnasium, along with Angelo Raftopoulos up front. Raftopoulos, Camilletti and Roberts earned Western Slope League first-team all-conference basketball honors while Sadvar, Murray and Jourgensen earned honorable mention.

Angelo Raftopoulos said he was happy to be named to the Western Slope League all-conference football team in November 2010.

He now has another reason to smile.

Raftopoulos, a Moffat County High School senior and a post player for the boys varsity basketball team, was recently voted by league coaches to the league's all-conference basketball team.

"I loved playing high school sports and it is cool to get all-conference honors for both football and basketball," said Raftopoulos, who played linebacker and center for the football team and led the basketball team in scoring. "It is a great note to go out on in my senior year."

Raftopoulos said he felt he received the honor because of his team leadership.

"To be chosen with the some of the best players in our league and in the state is great," he said. "It is unfortunate we didn't have anyone else because I think there were definitely other guys from our team who deserved it."

Recommended Stories For You

Raftopoulos said his biggest contribution to the team during the season was his play in the post.

"I was really the only kid from the senior class who played the post position because of injuries," he said. "We were lucky enough to have Brady Conner come back in the second half and have some younger kids step up."

MCHS boys coach David Bradshaw said Raftopoulos was an excellent all-conference selection.

"With Angelo's post play this season, he was one of the best players in the league," he said. "He was consistently in double digits in both scoring and rebounds and as the season went on he became more and more of the go-to guy for our inside game."

Raftopoulos was the sole MCHS player to be named to the boys all-conference team.

However, the girls team, which won a piece of the league title and made an appearance in the state playoffs, wasn't without its share of individual postseason accolades.

Senior Lauren Roberts and junior Melissa Camilletti earned all-conference, and senior Maddy Jourgensen, junior Annie Sadvar and sophomore Sassy Murray received honorable mention nods.

Roberts, who was named to the all-conference team last season as a junior, said receiving the all-conference honor was also a goal this season.

"I think I set a standard for myself after receiving the honor last season," she said. "I was surprised last year and I just didn't want to regress this year."

Roberts said she missed out on the league player of the year award to Glenwood Springs' Kenzie Kuhn by one vote.

Still, she said it was an honor to be mentioned with the league's best players.

"It is special to be a top player in the league in my senior year," Roberts said. "I think I was voted by the coaches because of the rebounding I did for my team and the second-chance shots I put up."

Camilletti, who earned honorable mention last season, said her hard work this season paid off.

"I put a lot of time in the gym to help make the team successful," she said. "I was able to bring the ball down the court as point guard and help set my teammates up to score."

Matt Ray, coach of the MCHS girls varsity basketball team, said Camilletti's determination helped her this season.

"Melissa is a hard-nosed girl who was determined not to be stopped," Ray said. "She made the players around her better and made other teams have to put two defenders on her sometimes."

Ray said Roberts' consistency proved to be her strongest aspect.

"Lauren was putting up almost 11 points and 10 rebounds every game," he said. "It didn't matter where she was at or who she was playing, she made teams prepare for her in the post."

Ray said honorable mentions for Jourgensen, Sadvar and Murray were due to the rest of the league recognizing the defense his team was able to play this season.

"I think the league thought we had the best defense and that is why we got three honorable mentions," he said. "Maddy, Annie and Sassy helped us out big in our defense this year."

Click here to have the print version of the Craig Daily Press delivered to your home.

2011 Western Slope League girls basketball first-team all-conference honors:

(Name — school)

• Lauren Roberts — MCHS

• Melissa Camilletti — MCHS

• Skylyn Webb — Delta

• Jenni Jones — Delta

• Kenzie Kuhn — Glenwood Springs

• Lexie Warkentin — Glenwood Springs

• Cassidy Gaddis — Glenwood Springs

• Hannah Moore — Steamboat Springs

• Tara Spitellie — Steamboat Springs

• Kendra Barnes — Palisade

• Kayla Gagnon — Eagle Valley

• Kenia Olivas — Battle Mountain

2011 Western Slope League girls basketball all-conference honorable mention:

(Name — school)

• Annie Sadvar — MCHS

• Sassy Murray — MCHS

• Maddy Jourgensen — MCHS

• Sadie Carrillo — Delta

• Callie Gafford — Delta

• Katie Kahrs — Delta

• Conner Adams — Glenwood Springs

• Hannah McDermott — Glenwood Springs

• Katie Lettunich — Steamboat Springs

• Olevia Shafer — Palisade

• Kailie Wallace — Palisade

• Cori Cramer — Eagle Valley

2011 Western Slope League boys basketball first-team all-conference honors:

(Name — school)

• Angelo Raftopoulos — MCHS

• Kevin Flohr — Glenwood Springs

• Nick Ciani — Glenwood Springs

• Mike McGraw — Glenwood Springs

• Isiah Forsyth — Steamboat Springs

• Charles Wood — Steamboat Springs

• Randall Nelson — Steamboat Springs

• Justin Anderson — Steamboat Springs

• Kane Gunther — Palisade

• Cody Hervert — Battle Mountain

• Eli Baier — Delta

• Tim Wells — Eagle Valley

2011 Western Slope League boys basketball all-conference honorable mention:

(Name — school)

• Willy Pellend — Glenwood Springs

• Kellin Casey — Glenwood Springs

• Collin Porterfield — Glenwood Springs

• Gabe Hellmann — Palisade

• Caleb Hall — Palisade

• Eric Gurule — Battle Mountain

• Irving Ruacho — Battle Mountain

• Joe Lybarger — Battle Mountain

• Jake Ames — Delta

• Tim Ashurst — Delta

• Zeth Ramsey — Eagle Valley

Go back to article