GOP gets ready for Saturday assembly |

GOP gets ready for Saturday assembly

Delegates to vote on primary candidates

Brian Smith

Moffat County will have a clearer picture of how its election ballot will look after Saturday's Moffat County Republican Party County Assembly.

The assembly — the second step in Colorado's caucus process — entails 86 delegates from Moffat County voting on which candidates will appear before voters in the August primary election.

Candidates must receive 30 percent of the delegate vote to be placed on the ballot. If a candidate receives less than 30 but more than 10 percent of the vote, he or she can petition onto the ballot.

All candidates, save for Robert Razzano, who is bypassing the caucus process and petitioning his way onto the ballot, are expected to attend the assembly and make speeches, said John Ponikvar, Moffat County Republican Central Committee chairman.

State Sen. Al White, R-Hay-

den, and State Rep. Randy Baum-

Recommended Stories For You

gardner, R-Hot Sulphur Springs, also are scheduled to speak.

Representatives of Bob McConnell and Scott Tipton, who are candidates for the Third Congressional District, and J.J. Ament, a state treasurer candidate, are also scheduled to speak.

Delegates also will vote on five resolutions to send to the state committee on resolutions and self nominate 17 delegates to attend the state assembly May 22 in Loveland.

Precinct committee members and the vacancy committee also will be selected.

The county assembly will start at 8:30 a.m. Saturday at Sandrock Elementary School, 201 E. Ninth St. The assembly is open to the public, but participation is limited to candidates and delegates.

It will begin with an address from Ponikvar, and then required delegate committees will be formed.

The credentials committee will verify the delegates are certified Republicans and in the correct precinct. The rules committee will establish the operation rules of the county assembly.

The resolutions committee, which already has voted on the five proposed resolutions, will present those resolutions

to the assembly.

During the election portion of the assembly, each candidate will make a speech before the assembly, outlining details of their candidacy and why they should be placed on the ballot.

Before candidates can speak, they must first receive a nomination speech by a registered republican and a seconding speech.

Delegates have one vote for each office. If the office is uncontested, a unanimous consent will be reached and voting will be bypassed.

Moffat County voters will decide on all elected county positions in November, save for the Moffat County Commission District 1 seat held by Tom Gray.

Tony St. John and Tami Barnes are challenging incumbent Audrey Danner for the District 2 commission seat.

Frank Moe is running against incumbent Tom Mathers for the District 3 commission seat.

Lila Herod is running uncontested for county clerk and recorder. Incumbent Elaine Sullivan is term limited.

Carol Scott and Razzano are running for county assessor. Incumbent Suzanne Brinks is term limited.

Kirk McKey and Larry Dalton are running for county coroner. Incumbent Owen Grant is term limited.

Tim Jantz is running uncontested for county sheriff.

Peter Epp and G.I. Buffham are running for county surveyor. Incumbent Lloyd Powers is term limited.

Sullivan and Mike Brinks are running for county treasurer. Razzano, the incumbent, is term limited.

Brian Smith can be reached at 875-1794 or

Go back to article