Caucus kicks off Moffat County election season |

Caucus kicks off Moffat County election season

Brian Smith

Tonight, Moffat County residents will gather for the caucus — an early step in the election process for many candidates.

The caucus, which Moffat County Republican Central Committee chairman John Ponikvar called "politics at is most basic level," will take place at 13 different precinct caucus locations for Republicans and at one for the Democrats.

The caucus is a gathering of residents who wish to nominate themselves or other residents to attend the county assembly.

The 13 county precincts will seek to nominate 90 residents as delegates to attend the Republican county assembly April 10.

At the county assembly, the delegates will vote on which candidates go on to the primary election in August.

At the county assembly, the delegates will vote by secret ballot for candidates. Candidates must receive 30 percent of the delegate vote to be placed on the primary ballot.

Recommended Stories For You

If a candidate receives between 10 and 30 percent of the delegate votes, that candidate can petition his or her way onto the ballot by collecting a certain number of signatures based on the office sought.

If a candidate receives less than 10 percent of the delegate vote at the county assembly, they are eliminated from petitioning onto the ballot.

The Moffat County Dem­ocratic Party also will host a caucus at the Center of Craig.

Although no Democratic candidates have filed candidate papers, the Democratic caucus will determine which residents will be nominated to the county assembly and eventually to the state assembly, Moffat County Democratic Party Chairman Ted Crook said.

Before the caucus, candidates can call residents in the community and encourage them to attend the caucus in hopes they will carry forth a vote for them in the assembly.

The caucus also serves to inform delegates of the candidates running and start dialogue between residents about those candidates.

Residents wishing to attend the caucus must attend their assigned precinct.

Colorado and Vermont are the only two states that have a caucus every two years for the presidential and state elections.

If you go

What: Moffat County Republican Caucus

When: 7 p.m. today


• Precinct 1: Ridgeview Elementary School, 600 Westridge Road

• Precinct 2: Moffat County Fairgrounds, 750 E. Fourth St.

• Precinct 3: Sandrock Elementary School, 201 E. Ninth St.

• Precinct 4: Ladore Hall, Browns Park.

• Precinct 5: Moffat County High School, 900 Finley Lane

• Precinct 6: Maybell Community Center, 103 Ellis St.

• Precinct 7: Craig Middle School, 915 Yampa Ave.

• Precinct 8: Dinosaur Library, 109 E. Main St.

• Precinct 9: East Elementary School, 600 Texas Ave.

• Precinct 10: Hamilton Community Center, 17400 S. Colorado Highway 13.

• Precinct 11: Sunset Elementary School, 800 W. Seventh St.

• Precinct 12: Craig Middle School, 915 Yampa Ave.

• Precinct 13: Moffat County Extension Office, 221 W. Victory Way.

What: Moffat County Democratic Caucus

When: 7 p.m. today

Where: Center of Craig, 601 Yampa Ave.

— The events are open to the public.

Go back to article