EDP adds 3 new members during board member election

Petrone joins to represent MCSD, Johnson on for energy



“My interest in economic development is because of the interest I have in education. If we have an educated community, at a level we’re all aspiring to, it strengthens our workforce.”

Dr. Joe Petrone, Moffat County School District superintendent, about his interest to join the Craig/Moffat Economic Development Partnership

The Craig/Moffat Economic Development Partnership conducted elections Wednesday and in addition to retaining some of its longstanding board members, it also welcomed some new faces.

Though the organization’s bylaws allow for up to 13 members to sit on the board, the EDP had been operating for some time with 10.

Active member seats up for election this year included former chairman Scott Cook and treasurer Alisa Corey, both of whom petitioned to serve another term and were re-elected.

But with the recent departures of Jerry Thompson, who has been a board member since EDP’s founding, and Mike Anson, who opted not to seek re-election, EDP had the opportunity to attract three new people to sit on the board.

Among the three new individuals elected Wednesday were Gena Hinkemeyer, Craig Station Manager Rick Johnson and Moffat County School District Superintendent Dr. Joe Petrone.

Craig City Council member Byron Willems also recently replaced Jennifer Riley as the board’s city liaison.

While talking about his interest in joining EDP, Petrone said part of the school district’s mission is to not only prepare students for higher education, but also to prepare them to enter the workplace.

“My interest in economic development is because of the interest I have in education,” Petrone said. “If we have an educated community, at a level we’re all aspiring to, it strengthens our workforce.

“The mission of the district is to ensure students have a choice for their future, not just outside of Craig, but right here at home if they choose to stay and contribute to their community.”

Johnson, who is the first ever representative on the EDP Board from the energy sector, said he was interested in joining to further promote all of the things that make Craig and Moffat County a special place to live and work.

“I think this is a good opportunity for Craig and Moffat County to promote our values and opportunities to attract people to this area,” he said.

After the election the EDP Board moved on to appointing officers.

Jay Oxley, who stepped in as chair a couple of months ago when Cook stepped down, was confirmed to remain in that capacity for the coming term.

Corey and Nadine Daszkiewicz also were appointed to stay in their current positions as treasurer and secretary, respectively.

The board decided to postpone designating a co-chairman until its Nov. 21 meeting to allow members Chris Jones and Robert Wiens an opportunity to voice their opinions on a viable candidate.

Jones and Wiens were absent from Wednesday’s meeting.

Joe Moylan can be reached at 875-1794 or jmoylan@craigdailypress.com


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.