Council appoints park and rec board members


The Craig City Council appointed Tuesday night seven residents -- five members and two alternates -- to serve on the recently re-established Craig Parks, Recreation and Trails Advisory Board.

The council appointed Steven Tegtman, Toni Kelleher and Jim Duran to serve three-year terms, and Kim Conci and Erin Miller to serve two-year terms. Alternates are Tony St. John and Lawrence Sober.


The board's first meeting at 5 p.m. June 12 inside the council chambers at Craig City Hall.

Miller, who worked for the Greeley Parks and Recreation Department from 1999 to 2005, said she had told city officials she'd be interested in joining a new parks and rec board.

In Greeley, Miller said she learned the importance of having a good recreational program for both youths and adults.

"I enjoyed the work and I understand the value of the program," said Miller, now an assistant to the Moffat County commissioners. "I would like to see the program here expanded as much as possible."

She said another interest for her in working on the board would be bringing more awareness to the public about parks and recreational opportunities for both youths and adults.

"It's for everybody," Miller said.

The city is re-establishing the advisory board after a long absence. The board disbanded following a failed tax measure in the November 2003 election; the measure proposed raising taxes to pay for an $11.6 million recreation center.

One of the new advisory board's tasks will be exploring a recreation center. The advisory board will also concentrate on rec department policies and procedures, advise on budget priorities and suggesting capital improvements, among other duties.

Craig Parks and Recreation director Dave Pike has previously said the board is a "great way" for department staff to hear public feedback and gauge areas for improvement.

Joshua Roberts can be reached at 824-7031, ext. 210, or

Commenting has been disabled for this item.