Officials' terms begin next week

Swearing-in ceremony set for Tuesday


Nearly 50 public servants will be sworn into office during a ceremony next week at the Moffat County Courthouse.

Erin Miller, administrative assistant to the Moffat County Board of Commissioners, said plans for the ceremony were finalized Monday afternoon. The swearing-in is set for 9 a.m. Tuesday inside the 14th Judicial District courtroom, located on the third floor.

Sandra Gardner, the new Moffat County Court Judge, will issue the oath of office.

Moffat County Sheriff-elect Tim Jantz, a Republican and winner of the November general election, will take the oath. So will his choice for undersheriff, Charlene Abdella, a former juvenile detective and Drug Resistance Awareness Officer for the Craig Police Department, and 40 deputies.

Also taking the oath will be Tom Mathers, a Republican and former county commissioner, who defeated two GOP challengers in the August primary election and won an uncontested race in November.

Three other public officials -- county clerk and recorder Elaine Sullivan, county assessor Suzanne Brinks, and county coroner Owen Grant -- are also slated to attend.

For administrative purposes, county treasurer Robert Razzano was sworn in Monday, Miller said.

Sullivan, Brinks, Grant and Razzano, all of whom are Republicans, won uncontested races for re-election in November.

The three-member county commission is slated to attend the ceremony. Miller said the ceremony is open to the public.

The new officials' terms begin Tuesday.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.