Nearby newspaper receives awards

Colorado Associated Press Editors and Reporters Awards banquet honors Pilot & Today


The Steamboat Pilot & Today won 20 honors Friday night during the annual Colorado Associated Press Editors and Reporters Awards banquet at the Brown Palace in Denver.

The Pilot & Today won first-place honors in beat reporting, business reporting, environmental reporting, feature writing, online reporting, best series, continuing photo coverage and sports column writing. The Pilot & Today won more awards than any newspaper in its circulation category of 10,000 and less.

The Colorado Associated Press Editors and Reporters is made up of Associated Press member newspapers in Colorado. The CAPER contest entries were judged by Associated Press members in Pennsylvania.

"I am extremely proud of our staff," Editor Scott Stanford said. "Awards alone do not dictate the quality of a newspaper, but recognition from our peers in the newspaper industry is certainly rewarding."

Below are the first-place awards the Pilot & Today received:

Beat Reporting: John F. Russell won for his coverage of the 2006 Winter Olympics in Italy.

Business Story: Tom Ross won for "Downriver Deals," a story about the importance of water to the future of communities along the Yampa River.

Continuing Photo Coverage: Tyler Arroyo won for his package of photos in "Shifting Currents," the Pilot & Today's six-part series about the Yampa River.

Environmental Story: Ross won for "A River Wild," a story about the Yampa River's ecosystem.

Feature Story: Mike Lawrence won for "First in Time, First in Place," a story that examines Colorado water law and its impact on ranching families.

Online, Special Package: The newspaper staff won for its online presentation of "Shifting Currents."

Series: Mike Lawrence, Tom Ross, Brent Boyer, Jayme Elrod and Tyler Arroyo won for "Shifting Currents," the newspaper's six-part, summer series about the Yampa River.

Sports Column: Russell won for a package of three of his columns.

Below are the second-place awards the newspaper received:

Beat Reporting: Alexis DeLaCruz won for "Teens and Alcohol," a series of stories she did on efforts to curb the sale of alcohol to minors.

Feature Photo: Russell won for "Pronghorn," a photo of pronghorn antelope.

Informational Graphic: Elrod won for a series of graphics she did for "Shifting Currents."

Online, Breaking News: The newspaper staff won for the way it handles breaking news stories on

Honorable mention awards included:

Feature Photo: John F. Russell won for "Lightning," a photo of lightning striking near a barn.

Headline Writing: Meg Wortman won for "All Abroad for Olympics."

Informational Graphic: Meg Wortman, "Under the Sea."

Investigative Reporting: Mike Lawrence, "Dwindling Supply."

Photo Illustration: Tyler Arroyo won for "Ruffles."

Public Service: The newspaper staff won for a series of stories and editorials that aimed to curb the availability of alcohol to minors.

Series: Mike Lawrence won for "Making the Grade," a series of stories about the Colorado Student Assessment Program test and how local schools prepare for it.

Sports Column: Dave Shively won for a series of his outdoors columns.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.