Fire board members resign

Musgrove, Pluym step down, giving no reasons


The five-member board of directors for the Craig Rural Fire Protection District has been reduced to three with the recent resignation of two board members.

On Friday, the board received the resignation of Donald Musgrove, a four-year board member recently re-elected and president of the board of directors. On Monday, Bob Pluym, a two-year board member, tendered his resignation.

The secretary and treasurer of the board, Alan Webber, said the two departing board members gave no reasons for their departures.

"It may have been that the time commitment was more than anticipated," Webber said. "I'm not sure if the two resignations are related or not."

Pluym declined to comment, and Musgrove could not be reached for comment.

Webber is the only board member left with an office. The other two members are John Forgay and Tony Maneotis.

On Tuesday, the fire department began advertising for candidates to replace Pluym and Musgrove.

Interested candidates for the board of director positions should apply by letter to the fire department, 419 Yampa Ave.

Letters should be submitted to the department by Aug. 4, and interviews are scheduled to begin Aug. 10.

The board of directors has 60 days to fill the positions or Moffat County commissioners will appoint someone to the fill the vacancies, Webber said.

Fire board members are required to be 18 years old, registered to vote in Moffat County and reside within the boundaries of the fire district.

The board meets on the third Thursday of every month at the fire station and decides how to spend money in the fire department budget.

New board members would serve the terms left by departing members.

Terms are staggered to prevent major changes in the board's membership.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.