Fire board to screen 4 applicants


Four people met a Friday deadline and have applied for two vacancies on the Craig Rural Fire Protection District board of directors. A review of the applicants could begin as early as today, board member Alan Webber said.

"We may start interviews as early as tomorrow," Webber said on Monday. "We would like to have the new members sitting on the board for the next board meeting on Aug. 17."

The board is looking for two new members after the unexpected resignation of two board members in July.

Donald Musgrove, a four-year board member and president of the board of directors, tendered his resignation July 14. Shortly after, Bob Pluym resigned after two years of serving the board.

Neither board member said why he resigned.

Webber, John Forgay and Tony Maneotis are current members of the board and will conduct the interviews. At the July 20 board of directors meeting, Forgay was appointed interim board president. Webber remains as secretary and treasurer of the board.

The Moffat County Board of Commissioners can appoint new members to the board if replacements aren't appointed within 60 days of the resignations.

"There are some fire districts where that's an issue," former firefighter Byron Willems said. "Sometimes they just don't get the applications."

Willems said he is a candidate for one of the openings on the board.

He said he recently retired from Craig Fire/Rescue after completing 23 years of service with the department.

"It was just time to retire," Willems said.

The new board members will serve staggered terms. Both will have to win an election in two years to continue serving on the board.

The board could also elect a president at its next meeting.

Forgay can remain interim president indefinitely or he can be made president. Anyone else on the board may be appointed to the position.

"It might be whoever is most qualified," Willems said. "It might be whoever has the most time they can commit to the office."

Members of the Craig Rural Fire Protection Dist--rict Board of Directors are paid $50 per month. The president and treasurer are paid $100 per month.

Fire board members are required to be at least 18 years old, registered to vote in Moffat County and reside within the fire district.

The board, the principal policy-makers for the fire district, meets on the third Thursday of each month at the fire station. The meetings are open to the public.

Dan Olsen can be reached at 824-7031, ext.207, or

Commenting has been disabled for this item.