Colorado Press Association honors Daily Press


The Craig Daily Press won 18 awards Saturday at the Colorado Press Association Convention and Better Newspaper Contest.

Among the awards were a Best of Show for the newspaper's United Way advertising campaign and the prestigious Readers First Award.

The Readers First Award is presented to the one newspaper in the state that does the most to enhance readership during the year. The Daily Press was recognized for making the switch to morning delivery, changing its distribution model and enhancing its news content. The Daily Press also won the award in 2004 and finished second in 2003.

The Best of Show Award was presented for the United Way advertising campaign put together by staff members Samantha Johnston and David Taylor. The campaign was judged to be the best advertising entry of all newspapers at all circulation levels. Similar Best of Show awards were presented in photo, design and newswriting.

The Daily Press captured 16 awards in the Better Newspaper Contest, more than any newspaper other than the Daily Press' sister newspaper, the Steamboat Pilot & Today. The newspaper competed in the category for dailies with less than 10,000 circulation.

The Daily Press' series "Dark Crystal: Northwest Colorado's Methamphetamine Nightmare" netted two awards including second place in best series and second place in best special section.

Editorial winners for the Daily Press included the Daily Press editorial board, third place, editorial writing; Jeremy Browning, second place, news story; David Pressgrove, second place, sports story; the staff, third place, sustained coverage; the staff, third place, headline writing; Terrance Vestal, first place, service to the First Amendment; Amy Hatten, third place, feature photography; and Hatten and Taylor, third place, feature page design.

Advertising winners included Taylor and Johnston, first place, advertising campaign; the staff, first place, advertising layout and design; Taylor and Johnston, first place, newspaper promotion; Johnston, Christina M. Currie and Cyme Browning, second place, newspaper promotion; JonEll Nichols, second place, circulation promotion; and Nancy Bechhold, second place, classified page or section.

The Moffat County Morning News won three awards in the category for weeklies with circulations between 1,750 and 4,000. Will Fletcher won first place in news story and third place in feature photography. Bobbi Sankey won second in feature photography.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.