News briefs for Dec. 15


The Craig Elks National Hoop Shoot was Saturday at the Craig Middle School and drew 30 contestants.
The first place winner in the ages 8 to 9 girls group was Kadie Kulberg; second place was Erika Kipfer. Erika will be going to the district competition in Kadie's place. In the ages 8 to 9 boys group, Peyton Trask took first place. In the ages 10 to 11 girls group, Chanda Walker received first place. Brian Davidson was awarded first place in the ages 10 to 11 boys group. Armando Lopez was awarded first place in the ages 12 to 13 boys group. There were no female contestants in the 12 to 13 age category.
The district competition will be in Rangely on Jan. 22. After district competitions, winners will move on to state, regional and finally national competition. The national winner will win a trip to Springfield, Mass., and have his or her name inscribed on the Elks Hoop Shoot Wall of Honor at the Dr. James Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame building.

Daily Press looking for Editorial Board members
The Craig Daily Press is accepting nominations for community representatives on its editorial board. The community representatives would serve a four-month term beginning Jan. 1.
The editorial board includes two community representatives and three members of the newspaper staff.
Newspaper staff members on the board are publisher Samantha Johnston, editor Andy Smith and reporter Rob Gebhart. The board formulates the "Our View" position expressed on the opinion page of the newspaper.
Readers interested in serving on the board should send a letter of 500 words or fewer expressing their interest in the board to Smith at or 466 Yampa Ave., Craig, CO 81625. Letters also may be dropped off at the Daily Press office.
Nominations are due Dec. 24. Call Smith at 824-7031 with questions.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.