Moffat County commissioners receive honors from state group


Two Moffat County commissioners were honored by their fellow commissioners from throughout the state last week at the Colorado Counties, Inc. (CCI) annual winter conference.

Moffat County Commissioner Marianna Raftopoulos was selected by her peers to serve as the 2003 CCI president.

Raftopoulos, who is serving her second term as Moffat County commissioner, has served on the CCI Board of Directors, the

National Association of Counties Telecommunications and

Technology Committee, the Colorado Wildlife Commission and as chairperson of the Department of Human Services Works Allocation Committee.

Moffat County Commissioner T. Wright Dickinson, who finishes his second term as commissioner next month, received the Distinguished Service Award at the same conference.

The award is presented to the county commissioner in Colorado who has a long tenure in county government and other public services and has served on numerous

committees, boards and task forces, according to a press release from CCI.

Dickinson has served as chairman of the Agriculture, Wildlife and Rural Affairs committees, and vice chairman of the Public Lands Committee.

He has served on the National Association of Counties

(NACo) Public Lands Committee, the NACo Public Lands Committee, the NACo Western Interstate Region Board and the Great Outdoors Colorado Board.

Colorado Counties, Inc., first organized in 1907 and

incorporated in 1974, is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization of counties whose purpose is to study and seek solutions to issues facing

county government throughout the state.

The organization's programs focus on education, information and legislative policy.

Josh Nichols can be reached at 824-7031 or

Commenting has been disabled for this item.