Bone-dry Moffat on list for ag disaster status


A bone-dry Moffat County is one of six Colorado counties which could receive agriculture disaster status.

Gov. Bill Owens has asked U.S. Secre-tary of Agriculture Dan Glickman to declare disaster status for Moffat, Kiowa, Morgan, Sedgewick, Larimer and Boulder counties.

Continuing drought and damaging freezes are the reasons listed for the emergency aid request.

"Farmers and ranchers across the state have seen their crops and pastures wither from lack of rainfall this past spring and summer," said Owens.

"A hard late-spring freeze also reduced our anticipated West Slope apple harvest and dramatically cut winter wheat yields in much of eastern Colorado," the governor added.

On May 12, freezing temperatures caused substantial damage to agricultural crops throughout the state.

Prolonged drought in Colorado has also damaged pasture land resulting in substantially reduced forage for livestock.

All six counties have incurred crop damage as a result of the extreme weather patterns.

If the USDA designates these areas disaster-impacted counties, producers will be eligible for the emergency loan program and other USDA assistance.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.